Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Wiring Help Needed!

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2011, 11:29 PM
voudoujoe
Road Captain
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Wiring Help Needed!

I'm replacing my Fat Bob rear fender with a Wide Glide Chopped Fender. In an effort not to be a complete newb poser, I want to do this myself. I'm OK with all the mechanical stuff, but could use some help with the wiring.

The Fat Bob has a curcuit block inside tail light fixture that I lose when going to the chopped fender. So, I need to create a pigtail to make the connections to the lights. Will use an 8 pin connectors on one end and several of the appropriate pin connectors on the other end. I'm trying to figure out what wire gets connected to where.

I want to :
- wire the stock turn signals
- add the LED run/stop chopped fender tail light
- use LED bolt lights to illuminate the side mount license plate
- wire a 12v cigarette lighter plug to power a GPS off the ACC lead

I planned to use the same wire (#7 blue wire) to power both the running light and license plate LEDs as they all draw little power. Was also planning on wiring the license plate LED in series so I only need one hot wire coming from the connector/pigtail.

I know I can also do the following:
- add a switch to turn the ACC power to the lighter on/off
- add a switch to turn licnese plate bolt lights on/off
- add a run/turn stop module to convert the turn signals to running/brake lights too
- use a load balancer if I want to use LED turn signals instead of teh stock bulbs

The attached picture is how I am planning to connect stuff. I also attached the wiring diagram leading up to the rear harness for reference.

Could someone tell me:

1) If this is a correct way to wire things?