Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Best "Low Buck" tuner ???

Old 01-12-2014, 03:23 PM
GonzoTx
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Best "Low Buck" tuner ???

Hey guys, I'm new to the EFI/MC world and I'm kinda disappointed in the system. I used to hot rod several EFI '90s Mustangs and one of the best things about them was the ability to compensate for exhaust-intake mods. Unless you went hog wild with compression, cam swaps etc.. it would tune for the mods. With this Harley (2010 Wide Glide) I can't even swap mufflers without buying a tuner.
Not long after I got this bike, we found out my wife has brain/lung cancer. Lucky for us, we caught it early and she has a very good chance of recovery, but with all the medical bills, that doesn't leave much $$$ for the bike (which she would not let me sell ! she loves to ride as much as I do)
Anyway, on to my question. I had already bought a set of pipes/air filter before we found out she was sick so I need a tuner. I've been looking at the Daytona Twin-Tec and the Ness Cheap Shot. I don't know if I'll need something else or if I can tune these without a big bill for dyno time. These is so much info and so many letters thrown around ( EFI,SERT,etc...) that its confusing. Or should I just bolt a carb on it ???? HELP !!!!

Old 01-12-2014, 03:53 PM
Pine Tree

Received 1,964 Likes on 463 Posts

Originally Posted by GonzoTx
...These is so much info and so many letters thrown around ( EFI,SERT,etc...) that its confusing. Or should I just bolt a carb on it ???? HELP !!!!
Sorry to hear about your wife but glad to know she is doing better....hope it continues in that direction.