Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Best tuner product for a 2003 FLSTSI with no O2 sensors?

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2014, 09:04 PM
Joe_G
Stellar HDF Member
Received 100 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Best tuner product for a 2003 FLSTSI with no O2 sensors?

Hope someone will take a minute to help me, I see there are some tuning gurus in this section.

I've been tuning my and my buddies' Vettes for 7 years using HP Tuners and a wideband so tuning is not new to me.

I recently installed straight pipes on my Heritage Springer and it now desperately needs a tune. I have baffles on the way and want to tune after I receive them.

Could someone recommend the best tuning product for me, given that my bike doesn't have o2 sensors and thus no closed loop? Unlike in the Vette where I have scanned 494 drag strip runs and tweak timing and fuel to the nth degree chasing tenths, I just cruise on my bike and need it to run decently. I don't plan to get a wideband and tune WOT, I'm not racing this bike.

I am liking what I am reading on the TTS product, seems familiar to me. Can I buy a used cable on ebay and buy credits from TTS to tune my bike? I scoured their website and the TTS for dummies paper (well done Mr. Lizard!) but couldn't get this answer.

I also don't know if TTS is useful for a simple bike like mine with no O2 sensors and I guess thus a speed density tune.

Appreciate any advice you folks could offer me and appreciate the time you take to reply.

Edit:
Ran across a nice website that gives info on the various options for tuning an EFI bike. Thought someone that runs across this thread might find it useful.

http://www.nightrider.com/biketech/m...i_upgrades.htm

Last edited by Joe_G; 04-16-2014 at 05:47 AM.
Old 04-03-2014, 01:11 PM
Joe_G
Stellar HDF Member