Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Tuners - Obviously in over my head

Old 04-23-2014, 01:15 PM
Buckinfitch
Supporter
Received 4,081 Likes on 1,514 Posts

Originally Posted by jmr1971
Isn't the dyno just a device that measures output/performance? I don't think it actually tunes anything, but I'm not an expert.

it doesn't measure it... it maximizes performance.

Old 04-23-2014, 01:45 PM
wurk_truk
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

Originally Posted by jmr1971
Isn't the dyno just a device that measures output/performance? I don't think it actually tunes anything, but I'm not an expert.
You are correct. A tuning device is also needed.

What a decent dyno does is have the ability to operate the bike through ALL riding conditions, while one is collecting data from the dyno itself or the tuning device. The ONLY dyno one wishes to use (and members need to be asking this question FIRST)... is the brake. Ask if the dyno has a brake.. No brake? Run Forest Run... that shop will NOT be able to 100% tune the bike.

The brake is actually called an Eddy Current Absorption unit. What this does is allow the dyno operator to mimic all conditions one will see on the road. like going up hills, etc. The brake is a load brake and applies a load to the bike. like in real life.

The key to tuning, first, will be what device is used to calibrate the bike itself... the tuner. Most popular are the TTS, the SEPST, and the PV. All capable tuners for the most part. These collect data and recommend changes that need to be entered into the ECM. This data is gathered by operating the bike in various loads and conditions.