Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Iron head 1985 won't hold idle after a hot start.

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2016, 08:06 AM
JonathanSShaw21
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Iron head 1985 won't hold idle after a hot start.

Hi there. I have a 1985 Harley Davidson Iron Head Sportster 1000 that I am trying to get running good again. I am a Harley technician but I'm more familiar with the late model Harley's. I have tested and changed a few things on it. I installed a late model CV carburetor (not to solve the issue, but to make it run better). Seems to start great when cold. Takes about 5 minutes to warm up. I take it down the road and runs great. I return to my shop and it will hold an idle just fine. I then shut the bike off and let sit for a few minutes... then try to start it back up. It starts with a little help from accelerator pump, but will not hold and idle unless it is run again for a few minutes down the road or the choke is out. The points gap it good. New plugs and wires. Fuel tank and screen are clean. The jets are 175/45 with a perfectly clean carburetor. Intake seals and inlet boot do not leak. The compression is around 90PSI. I feel is a little low but im hearing this is normal. I want to get this thing going but I'm lost with it not holding and idle after it is restarted hot from a 5 minute rest... Please help? I feel like I'm missing something...

Old 07-17-2016, 10:05 AM
bad tappets
Road Warrior
Received 405 Likes on 326 Posts

Will it hold idle from a hot start with choke pulled out a bit? If so, that indicates it needs more fuel and you'll need to upsize the idle jet. 90 compression seems low, maybe do a leak down test. Also check for air leaks on the intake side.

Old 07-17-2016, 04:51 PM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 111 Likes on 91 Posts