Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

1970 XLCH Carb upgrade

Old 10-24-2007, 09:18 AM
renotunes
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1970 XLCH Carb upgrade

I recently purchased an unmolested 70 xlch. It has a Screamin' Eagle carb on it that I cannot find parts for, and Iam replacing it w/ a 92 Keihin CV that will have a Stage I upgrade to it.. I am a novice, and getting back in to bikes and the mechanics of them, so I need help, and any information on this conversion would be greatly appreciated.

The bike runs good, and kick starts easily w/ theSE, but when I put a load on it or really get on the throttle, it bogs down in the midrange. I found out the SE was an add on for an 80cu engine. This is a 900 Sporster,55cu engine andthe SE carbmay be too much for it. I also found out they are veryhard to tune.

1.) The CV has 2 vacume ports on it. Where do they go when you retro this to an old Ironhead, or just plug them?

2.) I am putting baffles in the drag pipes that came w/ the bike prior to changing the carb. I know it will effect the tuning.

I plan to keep the bike stock in looks, and performing well andwithin my budget. I cannot afford an S & S upgrade, etc.

Any help, sugestions, or links to CV retrofitto anIronhead sites are greatly appreciated

Thanks-Steve

Old 10-24-2007, 10:28 AM
83XLX
Road Warrior
Received 640 Likes on 228 Posts
Default RE: 1970 XLCH Carb upgrade