Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

BAD oil leak!

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2008, 06:08 AM
bb4l777
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BAD oil leak!

i just bought a 1976 ironhead sportster. i had it straped down in the back of my truck and i was driving on the freeway. i swerved to avoid a 2X4 in the road and shook the hell out of the motorcycle. when i went to unload it there was a huge puddle of oil in the bed of my truck. was going to try to start the bike, but sure enough i was pretty much completely out of oil and it still has a nice little drip goin. this is my first motorcycle! my knowledge is of them is pretty much just riding them. im no mechanic and dont even know where the leak is coming from, where to start looking, or how to fix it. PLEASE HELP ME OUT!!!

Old 09-27-2008, 07:11 AM
supr2nr
Tourer

Since you said that the bike was out of oil, it has to be coming from the crankcase or the oil tank.

That being said I would put more that it pulled one of the oil lines free. On the back of the oil tank make sure that all three of the oil lines are there and secure. If those all check out then make your way to the bottom of the bike on the right hand side where the oil pump is and make sure the oil line is secured to the back of the oil pump.

If all of that checks out then just make sure the drain plug hasn't come out of the bottom of the oil pan.

If you still can't figure it out. Put a pan under your bike, and pour one quart of oil into the oil tank and see if you can see where the oil is coming from.

This picture is a very rudimentary drawing but from it you can see how/where the oil lines go on the bike. Ignore the oil cooler, filter part if you don't have one.

Last edited by supr2nr; 09-27-2008 at 07:16 AM.
Old 09-27-2008, 06:55 PM
98glider
Road Warrior
Received 47 Likes on 37 Posts

Sounds like there is a noticable leak that is obivious even when not running. Maybe the oil cap came off from the bumps

Old 09-27-2008, 09:46 PM