Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Lookin fer help with my 76 XLH ~

Old 11-15-2008, 11:04 AM
bigredflhtc
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lookin fer help with my 76 XLH ~

I just bought the bike out in MASS and brought it home in 3hrs of heavy rain ... Like a dumb ***" i didnt hear it run B4 i bought it.. Anyhow, i cant seem to get the starter to kick over. I put a jump to the battery and turn the key and push the start button and i get nothing.

How do i hot wire this to start it? Maybe bypass the key and the handelbar switch for now just so i can see if it runs ?

Yes`, i have a manual but it has complicated electrical charts in the back that i cant figure out.. You got to give me a break as im a Musician ..

Any help would be great...

aaron
Upstate, N.Y. 12846

Attached Thumbnails Lookin fer help with my 76 XLH ~-blacky-002.jpg  
Old 11-15-2008, 04:41 PM
straydog13
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 146 Likes on 96 Posts

this is not the answer you want but i think its the answer you need.buy a voltmeter.you can find them cheap.i bought one for my nephew for 4 bucks at harbor freight.dont be afraid of the electrical schematics.its your best friend.a voltmeter can answer soooo many questions and makes everything soooo much easier.beleive me i am not a genius by any means.you have to be smarter to get by without this stuff then with it.
if i told you how to hotwire it i think people here would shoot me.just take it step by step.----might also want to take the starter handlebar switch loose and make sure its not corroded.
hang tight theres plenty of better people here to walk you through it better.good luck.

Old 11-15-2008, 06:27 PM
FilthyLucre
Road Master
Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts