Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Classic > Ironhead
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-13-2009, 11:45 PM
roadway873 roadway873 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Default start button and off run rocker switch replacement

My starter button and gave out and during the disassembly I broke the run/off rocker switch connection. I have found what I think is the right replacement for the 2 switches, but will not order until I hear from you all and the tech guys @ JP cycles. will try to attach photobucket picks-----------------------Pls let me know what I don't--------THKS----JEFF
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2009, 02:29 AM
sepixlh's Avatar
sepixlh sepixlh is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 500 miles south from Artic Circle
Posts: 749
Default

Try to find OEM switches, those aftermarket are quite bad... they work sometime...

EDIT: Check that your starter relay is OK before installing new switch, otherwise you toast new switch too...
__________________
If you are in deep s**t up to your ears, it better to hold your mouth shut.

Last edited by sepixlh; 12-14-2009 at 06:42 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2009, 02:58 AM
2003Springer's Avatar
2003Springer 2003Springer is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Scottsboro
Posts: 2,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sepixlh View Post
Try to find OEM switches, those aftermarket are quite bad... they work sometime...
I had rather have a used oem than a new aftermarket +1
__________________

Scottsboro, Al Where Agnostics say "There ain't no hell" and I say "The hell there ain't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:32 AM
IronMick's Avatar
IronMick IronMick is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 2,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadway873 View Post
My starter button and gave out and during the disassembly I broke the run/off rocker switch connection. ...
It would help if you would tell us the year of your bike, and/or get the pics posted.
__________________
Mick
IronHead Forever!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:14 AM
carlgrover's Avatar
carlgrover carlgrover is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Decatur, Alabama
Posts: 4,621
Default

I lost the starter button on my bike at the bank one day. Just a quick 5 minute trip. I didn't have one tool on me either. Had to push it home, 2 1/2 miles. Tried to jump start it like I used to do years ago but either I'm too old or that Crane Hi-4 won't jump start.

New a guy who had a Shovel that was so disgusted with the start button breaking all the time that he simply ran both of the wires out of the housing and would touch them together when he wanted to start his scooter.
__________________
Don't worry, you'll be alright. After all, everyone knows that bees won't sting an idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:04 PM
roadway873 roadway873 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Default

I try to copy and paste pics to origional post but never get the paste option-don't know will try again tonite-oh by the way it is a 76 xlh
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2009, 02:06 PM
IronMick's Avatar
IronMick IronMick is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 2,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadway873 View Post
I try to copy and paste pics to origional post but never get the paste option-...
Have you seen this from PG? ...

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Mick
IronHead Forever!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2009, 11:47 PM
roadway873 roadway873 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Default

how and where do I do this-------------thks-------jeff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2009, 07:35 AM
1200efi 1200efi is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: east of albany, ny
Posts: 369
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadway873 View Post
My starter button and gave out and during the disassembly I broke the run/off rocker switch connection. I have found what I think is the right replacement for the 2 switches, but will not order until I hear from you all and the tech guys @ JP cycles. will try to attach photobucket picks-----------------------Pls let me know what I don't--------THKS----JEFF
Hi Jeff, Go to ebay and search this # 370297073904 seller is legendsmc. You get all the switches for $45 plus shipping and they are made in the good old USA. That's what I got, they are very good. (I think) Hope this helps. Ride safe.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2009, 11:13 AM
roadway873 roadway873 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Default

thks--jeff
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 11:13 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply


Tags
broke, button, control, davidson, disassembled, harley, harleydavidson, ignition, location, motorcycle, offrun, replacement, start, starter, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.