Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

carb question

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2012, 11:09 PM
indianaironhead
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default carb question

newbie here so please bear with me.i have a 1981 xlh 1000 with an s&s super e carburetor. I completely rebuilt the carb and reinstalled. I used the basic setup from the s&s video as a starting point. I choked the carb to start as usual,when it started with the choke on it redlined,so i shut the choke off but was still running at a high erratic idle and then died after about a minute. I then noticed smoke drifting out of the carburetor. Upon further inspection it seems to have fouled the rear plug. So should i pull the carb back off and start over again or is there something else i should check before I do this? Any ideas on what in the carb i should check first,accelator pump maybe?any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 06-27-2012, 06:21 AM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 111 Likes on 91 Posts

I am not familiar with the S&S carbs.

It could be throttle cable adjustment, or the throttle plate not closing for some other reason. With the engine not running look into the carb venturi while you twist the throttle, observing the throttle plate at the back of the carb. It should not be sticky, and should almost completely close - must stay open a small amount to idle.

High/erratic idle is often caused by intake leaks, air leaks thru the head/manifold/carb connections ...

Intake And Exhaust Leaks Tests

You cannot get a good tuneup if there are intake leaks or exhaust leaks.

1. Check for Intake Leaks

With the engine idling spray propane gas or WD-40 around the carb/intake/cylinder head joints. Propane is best because it leaves no mess, and is most easily sucked in thru leaks. WD-40 is said to work well because it has very fine spray droplets. Be careful to not allow any of either to get sucked in thru the A/C as this will invalidate the results.