Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Order of operations for brakes.

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2012, 06:50 PM
Krazyshark
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Order of operations for brakes.

Hi Everyone,

About to put in new brake pads on the front discs and bleed the lines of my 78 xlh. I have never worked with brakes before (automotive or motorcycle) and was wondering if I should:

1. Empty the brake lines, change pads, fill and bleed lines?

2. Change pads, then deal with the fluid?

3. Deal with the fluid, then change pads?

Thanks everyone, after this step I will be riding my Ironhead again after a two month hiatus!

Old 08-31-2012, 07:04 AM
shepdog
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

do not empty lines! remove the cover to the master cylinder,unbolt the caliper, push caliper in to compress piston (wrap master cylinder with rags to catch any fluid that may over flow)remove and replace shoes, re-mount caliper, slowly pump brakes up re-fill master cylinder if needed, if you want or need to change fluid after you are done just keep pouring new fluid in and bleed the brakes till it comes out clean, you dont want to drain the lines as sometimes it is a bear to get the air out!

Old 08-31-2012, 05:21 PM
Krazyshark
Cruiser

Thanks Shep! I am about to go out in a few minutes to do this. The only thing I noticed different from your description and that in the FSM is they recommend to disconnect the brake line, take the piston out of the caliper and replace the seals. Not sure if this is do-able with the fluid still in place.

Old 08-31-2012, 06:12 PM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 111 Likes on 91 Posts

It is not necessary to replace the seals, unless the caliper is leaking.

The calipers will be filthy inside; i use spray can brake cleaner - on sale next week at Princess Auto $3.00 per can. I usually buy at least a few as it is very useful stuff.

After the brake cleaner rinse it all with brake fluid; but try to not get any on the pads.