Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Brand new to Ironheads, need help with parts

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2012, 06:49 PM
gr33kfr33k5
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new to Ironheads, need help with parts

Well, I'm brand new to bikes in general (as in a month of riding). I bought a 1982 Ironhead because I simply loved it. There are no serious mechanical problems, runs great. I need help finding parts for it though, there is some chrome damage on the primary covers, I'd like to put a new seat on it (maybe a vintage mustang), new handlebars, and turn signals.

Unfortunately I look at all the XLH, XLHC, etc. and scratch my head. The guy i bought it from told me it was a "XE" but I've never seen that anywhere.

Anyways, any information or links to information would be a huge help . . . also how do i get my hands on a service manual?

Old 12-06-2012, 07:15 PM
HD_Matt
Cruiser
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Welcome to the club. I just picked up my first ironhead back in september. It's a 74 xlch. It needed a little tlc but not much..... so far. As for a manual, I went to my local hd dealership and ordered one as well as a parts book.

A good source for parts is JPcycles.com . Also check out xlforum.net, lots of info on there.

Lets see some pics when you get a chance.

Last edited by HD_Matt; 12-06-2012 at 07:20 PM.
Old 12-06-2012, 09:46 PM
IronMick
Stellar HDF Member
Received 111 Likes on 91 Posts

These two manuals are your most essential tools ...

Factory Parts Catalog 99451-85A
Factory Service Manual 99484-85

These are widely available thru a local indie bike shop, HD dealership, J&P Cycles, various eBay and internet sellers like motorcyclemanuals.com, AbeBooks.com, Amazon.com, etc. Just put the part numbers into the Gogle and eBay search engines and you will find many.

For buying parts these are the ones to try for NOS parts that i know of ...

http://www.tomsnosparts.com/
www.OldDude.com
www.SportySpecialties.com