Motorcycle Metal Fast? Now Control Yourself...

Motorcyclemetal 49mm fork tubes on a 86~13

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2013, 08:00 PM
FastHarley
Former Sponsor
Received 441 Likes on 246 Posts
Default Motorcyclemetal 49mm fork tubes on a 86~13

As many of you guys know I have been working for 3 years on bringing a 49mm fork on 1986~2013 FL's. These are direct bolt up and beside the fork tubes & sliders being thicker, there really is no difference in the way they look. Everything bolts right up, just replace with my trees, forks, and cartridges. You can see it for yourselves at Biketoberfest at Daytona next weekend.

I have been working late bringing this project to a close. Bar any machines breaking down, it should be done in time. This is the top of the tree & what billet it is made of 6061. I am putting externally adjustable compression, rebound, and spring pre-load an the cartridges, the same type I have been putting in the 49mm Dynas. Read how those cartridges make a HD an entirely different bike. This is how I am doing it.

Bottom triple tree made out of PH-7 stainless and steering stem than hardened.

Yes, you can use beer cans on them. The neck can still sit inside of the bottom tree unlike the 2014's and the sliders on the 2014's are shorter. This means that I no longer have to mill the sliders down to shorten them to lower or raise the bike and keep the same stroke or longer (up to 6+ inches. With my cartridges, the lowering is done internally and no cutting is necessary, just manipulate the spacers.

Top tree with the top cut and the bottom will be machined maybe today or within a day. The steering stem is 2 piece and made from PH-7 Stainless.

Of course it will be pocketed for weight savings and you can see that it has a top clamp around the fork tubes. There you have it, my shocks and cartridges inside of a 49mm fork. There is no better suspension in the world for a HD Dresser.

To answer a few questions: