Sponsored by:

GPS question

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2015, 09:31 AM
kpb46
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GPS question

I use Mapsource to create a route. Put in various way points to force route where I want it to go. Upload route into bike and it ignores all the waypoints and takes me the way it wants to go. Do I have to manually insert waypoints once uploaded onto the bike? Also, how many waypoints can there be on a single route?

Old 01-26-2015, 09:56 AM
HardRider1
Road Warrior
Received 91 Likes on 62 Posts

I am no expert, in fact I haven't had the opportunity to use the GPS yet (new bike this week) but would you not have better success using the HD route planner and then upload to the unit. It is my understanding that the HD planner was developed for the HD GPS which makes sense to me

Old 01-26-2015, 10:25 AM
rwven
Road Master
Received 232 Likes on 177 Posts

Originally Posted by kpb46
I use Mapsource to create a route. Put in various way points to force route where I want it to go. Upload route into bike and it ignores all the waypoints and takes me the way it wants to go. Do I have to manually insert waypoints once uploaded onto the bike? Also, how many waypoints can there be on a single route?

With the latest version software you can have up to 100 waypoints per route. I use Garmin's BaseCamp software for route planning and the .gpx files from it work well with the BoomBox. MapSource is also a Garmin product but I don't know if it works the same as BaseCamp.

Old 01-26-2015, 06:06 PM
kpb46
Road Master

The only update I see on the Harley site is for the 4.5. Am I missing something?

Old 01-26-2015, 06:13 PM
kkinderen
Road Master

The only update I see on the Harley site is for the 4.5. Am I missing something?
6.5GT is under Premium Radio

Old 01-26-2015, 07:49 PM
01XLH
Road Captain
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by rwven