2014-2023 Touring Models This Section Is For Rushmore/2014-2023 Touring Models
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

14 Ultra Ltd Cornering Behaviors...Hmmm?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2014, 07:55 PM
buford
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 14 Ultra Ltd Cornering Behaviors...Hmmm?

I'm new to the new frames and have recently went on a extended cruise on my ultra. Interesting experience when going through various corners at different speeds. At low speed and making turns on to another road the bike wants to fall into the turn, nothing alarming but you have to steer up a smidge or power into the turn to make it feel natural.
At moderate speeds 45-55mph, the bike feels nimble and natural in tighter corners and medium swoopers. But over 60 and above the bike wants to stand up and you have to force the turn to keep it tracking through a corner. I noticed that counter steering at higher speeds helped tremendously.
Again none of these characteristics are alarming but just feels different from the older FL framed bikes I have ridden.
Is this a typical behavior of these bikes or do I need to look into mine further for any issues or adjustments.
Riding solo with 15lbs of air in the shocks. 36lbs front tire pressure and 40lbs in the rear.
I appreciate your replies.

Old 04-21-2014, 08:07 PM
dusturbd
Road Captain
Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

I fell that my 14 LTD feels very solid and planted in all the scenarios that you listed. It has always been very predictable I have never had a feeling of having to force it to do something or a feeling of uneasy.

Old 04-21-2014, 08:36 PM
mikeman54
Supporter
Received 47 Likes on 43 Posts

I'd add some air to those shocks.I'm 5'8" 160 ride with 30psi,Thats just what works for me.

Old 04-21-2014, 08:41 PM
sft-tale
Advanced
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

I don't know what kind of bikes you have been riding, but at 950 lbs., I doubt anything you do with it is going to be nimble.

Old 04-21-2014, 09:15 PM
crhannig
Intermediate