Northeast Tri-State Area NJ, NY, and Ct

Bergen HD vs Garden State HD Service

Old 09-30-2014, 08:37 PM
NSR
Road Captain
Received 46 Likes on 41 Posts
Default Bergen HD vs Garden State HD Service

My bike is due for it's 1K servicing. This is the only time the bike will be taken to a dealership for routine maintenance.

I bought the bike from GSHD ($$), but live a little closer to BHD. Is either service department really any better than the other?

Old 09-30-2014, 09:50 PM
Deucedog
Stellar HDF Member
Received 260 Likes on 135 Posts

I have no personal experience with either shop, but I've read a few decent reports on BHD.

Old 10-07-2014, 07:51 AM
NSR
Road Captain

Just a little feedback...

I wound up going to Bergen HD - for two reasons. One, they are a little closer to me. Two, they had an open appointment slot for first thing in the morning (9am) on a weekday that happened to be my day off.

The soonest GSHD could get me in was a Saturday morning. GSHD operates on a "first come, first served" basis on Saturdays, so that was a little bit of a turn-off. Understandable, but not as convenient.

The price quoted from both shops was identical, fwiw.... "$400 with synthetics".

I actually payed $373. Bergen HD had me back on the road in 2.5 hours.

Old 10-07-2014, 08:55 AM
Jersey Drew
Road Warrior
Received 254 Likes on 158 Posts

Originally Posted by NSR
Just a little feedback...

I wound up going to Bergen HD - for two reasons. One, they are a little closer to me. Two, they had an open appointment slot for first thing in the morning (9am) on a weekday that happened to be my day off.

The soonest GSHD could get me in was a Saturday morning. GSHD operates on a "first come, first served" basis on Saturdays, so that was a little bit of a turn-off. Understandable, but not as convenient.

The price quoted from both shops was identical, fwiw.... "$400 with synthetics".

I actually payed $373. Bergen HD had me back on the road in 2.5 hours.