Panhead A place to talk about Panhead motors.

This bike just changed my world!

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 04:10 PM
The Ground Truth
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default This bike just changed my world!

This thread may jump all over the place because this 48 panhead EL just blew my mind. I'm new to Harleys ( just bought a 09 street bob in January) and while growing up I always thought they were cool, I never really began to check out the old school bikes until recently. I really love my bike and I'm so happy that I own it but this bike just screamed out to me and I can't get it out of my head. So in a couple of years I'm going to pull the trigger and get one to work on. With that I just have a couple of questions for you guys have have experience with these bikes.

All I hear is that this old bikes need constant work because of leaks, rattles, etc but how hard are they to work on? I consider myself a handy guy but I have never really worked on motors before besides basic maintenace. I don't know how hard it would be to find a repair manual for a Panhead but thought would help alot.

Is there a year span that I should avoid like the plague? I know some manufactuers just have some runs of junk that you wouldn't but used.

Finally, is there a good website or book that I can check out to get smart on these bikes?

I'm not looking for something that needs a ground up resto or something that is already a finished product. Just something I can work on and make my own but isn't a lost cause for a first time project.

I attached a pic of the 48 panhead.

Attached Thumbnails This bike just changed my world!-48-panhead-el.jpg   This bike just changed my world!-48-panhead-el-2.jpg  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:43 PM
sqdealgeorge
Road Warrior
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

An Army type guy right ! Send me an E-Mail address and I'll show you what was available and I purchased after I got back from Vietnam in 1970 Big dollars $300 in a basket !

Old 10-19-2009, 08:26 PM