Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Convert to Heel & Toe Shifter on '92 Softail Springer?

Old 04-07-2011, 10:04 PM
Beachbiker45
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Convert to Heel & Toe Shifter on '92 Softail Springer?

I just joined the forum, did a search, and can't find an answer to a new situation I'm facing.

I own a 1992 Softail Springer with the stock shifter.

I'm a military service-connected Disabled Veteran, and one of my rated medical conditions recently deteriorated to the point that I can't flex my left foot upward with any effective force. I can still push downward with it.

Of course, the problem this poses is that I can shift my bike into 1st gear - but I can't pull it up into neutral nor the rest of the gears. My neurologist doesn't know if this will be permanent.

Otherwise, I seem to be OK to ride again. I live in Myrtle Beach, I like to ride when I can anyway - but our rally is coming up in a month, and I usually participate in many activities.

I figured the best solution I could do - if possible - is to convert the existing single (toe) shifter to a HEEL AND TOE "rocker"-type shifter similar to what I've had on previous Harleys with floorboards. That way, it would be just a simple matter of using my heel to also push downward into neutral and through the rest of the gears.

I checked with the local Harley Dealer and some other shops to find out if any company makes a simple conversion shifter arm, etc - none known. However, they recommend replacing the SHAFT that the shifter arm connects to with one that has splines on both sides, like is on the Softail Classic, Road King, etc - and then a heel/toe shifter setup that fits and clears the side case. They don't know what shaft may work, though.

My question, therefore - has anyone on this forum ever done this?

If so, how? If not, any recommendations?