Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Ran Out of Belt Adjustment

Old 04-25-2014, 06:22 PM
Stricnine
Cruiser

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Ran Out of Belt Adjustment

I'm new to the site and looked around and didn't see anything on here about this already. If there is, I apologize and will try and search deeper.
I am kinda new to Harleys and needed to work on the rear brakes. (I should've looked on here first but didn't and that's was a hard lesson learned) I have a 2003 Heritage. I removed the rear wheel, brake caliper, etc. Well, I didn't pay too much attention to there not being any notches to lineup the rear wheel nor did I look at how much the adjuster nuts were tightened. With a lot of knowledge on here, I was able to overcome my shortcomings and get it lined up and back together. The issue I am seeing now is that I have completely run out of adjustment for the drive belt. The belt has no wear or cracks and appears to be in great condition. (the bike only has 13K miles). Am I missing something or is there something else at work here. The only thing I could think of was maybe the previous owner changed the front pulley to a smaller one. I am really not wanting to put another belt on the bike. I hope this is just another newby deal and you guys can help straighten me out. Thanks for any help.

Old 04-25-2014, 11:17 PM
Stricnine
Cruiser

Not sure if this would cause the issue, but I have been looking around and it seems as though I should be measuring my deflection from the top of the belt and not the bottom. I will check it tomorrow and see if this corrects the issue. Anyone who knows if this sounds right, please let me know. Thanks

Old 04-26-2014, 07:49 AM
asm481
Road Master
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts