Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Replacing drive belt that broke

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2014, 04:32 PM
maoneill40
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing drive belt that broke

the drive belt on my 2000 Ultra classic trike broke last week. 102575 miles isn't bad for a stock belt right? Anyway after calling around the area it appears there are no independent mechanics that work on harleys. And I don't have 1K to give to the dealer to fix it. So I'm going to fix it myself. I have the service manual and most of the tools already, And while I'm no master mechanic I think this is something I can handle.

Anyway as this will be my first time taking off the primary i figured I'd ask for any tips/tricks any of you have used. I figure after 100k miles I should probably replace any bushings and seals while I'm in there. Should be fun.

Old 06-11-2014, 09:45 PM
dawg
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,955 Likes on 1,711 Posts
Old 06-12-2014, 06:42 AM
maoneill40
3rd Gear

lots of good stuff on that page, I did a search and didn't find anything that detailed thanks for posting it dawg!

Old 06-13-2014, 09:25 AM
djl
HDF Community Team

Received 2,029 Likes on 1,498 Posts

Originally Posted by maoneill40
the drive belt on my 2000 Ultra classic trike broke last week. 102575 miles isn't bad for a stock belt right? Anyway after calling around the area it appears there are no independent mechanics that work on harleys. And I don't have 1K to give to the dealer to fix it. So I'm going to fix it myself. I have the service manual and most of the tools already, And while I'm no master mechanic I think this is something I can handle.