Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

1st road trip

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2015, 11:51 AM
Bmatt
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1st road trip

Im thinking of taking my first rd trip.It will be from ny to tenn. to see a buddy of mine that just returned from afganastain. I ride a 2012 sreetbob my qustions are, 1 is this to much of a ride for my first long trip.(I will be going solo).
2 how should i prep for this journey (what to pack on/for the bike)
ive been riding for 20 yrs but this is my first BT and since ive moved away from my riding budddys dont take to many long trips

Old 01-15-2015, 12:21 PM
SilverEagle50
Road Captain
Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

I don't know why you couldn't make that trip on a Street Bob. Would be more comfortable on a Touring bike, but hey, there are many out there doing the same thing on dyna's, softtails, and even sportys.

Packing: Get you a good piece of Motorcycle luggage. There are many choices, so just search on this site or google them. (I'm assuming you have a sissy bar to attach this bag). If you search this site, you will see many say to NOT over pack. On longer trips, I have my jeans starched and wear them for two days. Maybe enough shirts and socks to reach your destination. Sounds like you will be where you can do a load of laundry so you have clean stuff for the trip home.

as far as the FOR the bike: just take a credit card and maybe have some sort of insurance or HOG membership so that you can get a tow if you have problems. I carry a few basic tools for an emergency. Then just your basics. flashlight, can of monkey butt (for the red a$$), chap stick, etc.

Lastly, just enjoy the trip and enjoy your time with your buddy. And tell him thanks for his service.

Old 01-15-2015, 12:45 PM
Bmatt
Intermediate

thanks mike

Old 01-15-2015, 01:19 PM
Michael Psycle
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,964 Likes on 1,411 Posts