Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

Road trip advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2015, 11:46 PM
Jcal87
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Road trip advice

I'm considering taking a road trip around the country. Not really sure where i'm going to go, maybe Montana, maybe North Carolina. It's mainly a spiritual kind of thing for me as cliche as that sounds. I have never done anything like this before though and would like to get some advice. Such as how to do these the least expensive way as far as places to stay and eat and any other advice I can be given or cool places to see. Also,safety is also a major concern. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Jcal87; 06-18-2015 at 12:00 AM.
Old 06-18-2015, 01:02 AM
Fireax
Cruiser
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

For the Spiritual? Closest to Texas, take an early Fall (Not mid summer) trip including Palo Duro Canyon Texas, Chaco Canyon New Mexico (just NW of Albuquerque New Mexico) and North Rim Grand Canyon. Tent camp in these three places to enjoy the night sky.

These are all "Dark Sky" places. On a clear Fall night you can see constellations with the naked eye, but of course bring a good pair of binoculars or a spotting scope. There is also an observatory at Chaco Canyon. Dirt roads into Chaco, but in spite of the warnings on the park Web site they were actually pretty good dirt roads. Chaco was the site of a very ancient, mystical, and sophisticated civilization. Palo Duro was the site of a decisive battle between the Plains Native Americans and the US Calvary. Grand Canyon and "Four Corners" area of the Southwest are of course rich with Native American history.

For Scenery and challenging roads? Pacific Northwest, Rocky Mountains, or Appalachians. For Spiritual and challenging roads? Desert Southwest. For Safety? Stay home and watch TV on Sunday morning, stay off of that motorcycle.