Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

Summer Road Trip to Copperhead

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2016, 08:06 PM
dirtyike
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Summer Road Trip to Copperhead

So in July the wife and I are going to take a trip out to Copperhead lodge for our first long trip, We are coming up from Florida and going to spend 4 nights.

We are used to riding in flat straight pavement here in Florida, so riding in twisties, hills, elevation change is new to us. I've been riding for about 4 years (Softail) and my wife (Sportster) a little less than 2, any advice for us rookies? We are planning on riding the Cherohala Skyway, Gauntlet, etc.

Whether safety, things to not do, must do's, etc

Old 05-21-2016, 01:27 AM
PRrdglide
Road Master
Received 55 Likes on 52 Posts

Ride your own ride at your pace. If you can go to Maggie valley go to wheels through time. Copperhead has some guided rides also. Have fun and stop and smell all that freash air

Old 05-21-2016, 05:49 AM
Rocker NH
Grand HDF Member
Received 6,022 Likes on 1,852 Posts

We,ll be there around July 20th maybe we,ll bump into you. Enjoy,and as PPrdglide said-ride at your pace[always make sure you feel comfortable]. Guided ride may be ok if the group is not too large[I personally don't like to ride in a group of strangers].There is not a bad road down there--I guarantee you,ll go back again once this trip is done.Wheels through time/Cades Cove/ TOTD/Skyway/Gauntlet---to name a few things to not miss,and some good BBQ ----Rocker

Old 05-21-2016, 07:01 AM
ROUNDHEAD
Road Master
Received 171 Likes on 123 Posts

Beware of orange haired Japanese on crotch rockets with a camera on top of their helmets (tora tora, tora!)