Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Primary belt drive

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2015, 12:40 PM
tengraver
Novice
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Primary belt drive

I just bought a BDL enclosed primary belt drive for my '82 FLT tourglide....yep, the oddball years with the 5 spd tranny! The kit is made for that model, but the belt is WAY too tight. I can't run it like that. I've been in contact with BDL, and they seem to think the problem is with the inner primary housing. The distance between the crank and tranny shaft is determined by that housing, and it seems to be too wide. I'm a machinist, so I can weld / remachine the bearing bore, no problem...thing is, I'd like to know what the distance should be, to see if it's really off or not before reworking it. Any ideas? (I would think BDL would know since they have to make the kit based on SOMETHING, but I haven't heard back from them.) Any other suggestions on getting this belt tension right? Anyone else been there, done that?

Thanks!

Old 03-31-2015, 09:36 PM
V_twins
Road Captain
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts

that's weird... I am pretty sure the distance is the same also for later years... since gettin a later primary housing and/or transmission (spline shaft) should bolt on

Old 04-01-2015, 08:52 AM
tengraver
Novice

To answer my own question: BDL gave me a dimension of 11.327". I guess the 4 spd shovels are 12.900". I measured it at work on a CMM and got 11.324. Still doesn't explain why the belt was so tight. The transmission bearing bore was pretty loose, so I welded it and rebored it on size - AND shifted it 0.020" towards the engine bore. It looks good so far, still need to tighten everything up and see if it's tracking good.

Old 05-31-2015, 11:31 AM
99cobra
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i know this is a slightly old thread(few month)