Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Newbie Intro

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2015, 12:10 PM
notmyshvl
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Intro

Figured I'd do my introduction here since its the only area of the forum I've been reading. I recently took possession of a '81 FLH that I've wanted for over 10yrs. A close friend owned the bike but never had the desire or interest the bike deserved in my opinion. I finally talked him out of it recently which brings me here. I joined the forum back in '08 when I was riding it then. It's basically been sitting for no reason for approx. the last 7yrs.. I'm new to shovels other than basic tune up, fluid changes, and carb rebuild I completed years ago. I've done all my own wrenching on several vehicle resto's over the years but still green to Harelys so don't flame me too hard on obvious questions. Yes I've acquired and started reading the HD and Haynes manuals.

The current condition isn't bad but needs a little work in most areas. The bike was originally a University of Houston police bike sold in a state auction to a friend in Oklahoma who built it to the condition it today. I still have contact to original owner which is nice when certain items are unknown. The engine and tranny are basically stock both rebuilt at some point in time. A Fxwg dual disk front end was swapped and it was lowered. Looks a lot like a FX to me.