Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Newbie here, question about my FLH front master

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2006, 08:09 AM
jammerjamesharmon
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here, question about my FLH front master

Hi all

Purchased the bike of my dreams, a 1980 FLH. http://www.geocities.com/jammerjamesharmoni8/1980FLH

The problem I'm having is having to pump the front brake. I cleaned and honed the cylinder in the master and installed a new kit. Bleed it and it seemed alright. After a few weeks, it is back to having to pump it again at "every" stop. The cheesy manual I own, states DOT5, synthetic right? Could this be a problem??? If not any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks
James

www.geocities.com/jammerjamesharmon

Old 02-24-2006, 08:24 AM
pococj
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,211 Likes on 461 Posts
Default RE: Newbie here, question about my FLH front master

DOT 5 is correct. Try rebuilding the caliper. What kind of brake line? Is it possible you still have air in the system?

Old 02-24-2006, 08:36 AM
jammerjamesharmon
Stage III

ORIGINAL: pococj

DOT 5 is correct. Try rebuilding the caliper. What kind of brake line? Is it possible you still have air in the system?

Brake line is new, non rubber, could still be air. Have not rebuilt the caliper. Thanks for your help.

Old 02-24-2006, 05:26 PM
HDF Tech
Banned
Received 147 Likes on 41 Posts

DOT 5 In a 1980???? How did we arive at that other than the cheesy manual? If it is the origional equipment on the bike and you did not rebuild the caliper, not a good move with the dot 5. IMO Those systems ran 3 or even 4 but 5 didn't come out for a time after that bike was manufactured. A lot of times the seals and that are not compatible when changing fluids to a different dot and new style seals must be installed throught the system to be compatible with the DOT 5 .