Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Oil problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2014, 05:36 PM
Jbic68
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil problems

On my 1982 shovel I went to change the oil there was none in the tank I thought maybe maybe the check valve was stuck turned the engine on and oil is flowing into the filter is there another drain plug somewhere else besides the oil tank this bike has a oil cooler on it and some round cylinder thing under the engine from th cooler. Sorry about all the questions but I'm new to these shovelheads and I'm waiting on my manuals to get here. I only drained out about a quart of oil. There should be more the bike runs good no problems oil light is not coming on. Which it did about two weeks ago and put in about a 1/2 quart And it went out. The oil cooler seems like a cobbled up mess to me. Thanks for any input

Old 04-22-2014, 06:19 PM
Lantern
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am not real sure what the issue is, but I would suggest not running anymore until you figure it out. Running it low or out of oil will be the end of your motor and that would be a shame. I would suggest some oil gauges the hell with an idiot light.

Someone will give the right answer on this site soon.

Good Luck Bro!

Old 04-22-2014, 06:39 PM
johnjzjz
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,536 Likes on 2,872 Posts

you could have a few things happening

1 the shovel motor is subject to sumping / that is the oil in the tank drips into the engine block one drip at a time and after a week can and often does empty the oil tank < possable // empty oil tank issue and no it real fix some times you can slow it down BUT some bikes never do it

2 the cooler - a picture of what your dealing with would be helpfull - the Round thing under it - is a thermostat the idea is as the oil gets hot it opens and lets the cooler do its job but when riding in cooler temps it stays closed to keep the enging temps correct