General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How far do you go?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 06:54 PM
blacktop37
Tourer
Received 122 Likes on 54 Posts
Default How far do you go?

Hello. Im almost back in the brotherhood again (and sisterhood). I have been away for 15 years with 30 years experience. I went through a rider safety course with my wife in 1998, the 2 week version every evening. The one thing that haunts me is the clothing protection they continued to teach at the class. It is very hot in Kansas so its hard to "bundle"up!
How far do you guys go? Ive been looking online and the protection is very expensive and amazing. When I rode last the cell phone was carried by rich people and the size of a shoe box. In a catastrophe is the money invested worth every penny??? Or are you going to be lifewatched anyway. Could I get some advice on a good balance so I dont pass out in the heat?
Thanks for all your help...seeya on the road!

Old 02-24-2017, 07:07 PM
teedubbyaw
Tourer
Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts

I live in Texas so I can empathize with you. I always wore leather in my sport bike days no matter the temperature. These days I wear mesh. Mesh jackets allow a ton of flow, have armor built in, but certainly won't protect as well as leather. Textile is another option, but its typically just as breathable as perforated leather. A good option is a mesh core and textile arms.

The following users liked this post:
blacktop37 (02-24-2017)
Old 02-24-2017, 07:08 PM
0maha
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,667 Likes on 1,660 Posts

Personal choice. Wear whatever it takes to make you feel protected.

Old 02-24-2017, 07:14 PM
blacktop37
Tourer

Ok thanks

Old 02-24-2017, 07:28 PM
JesseDyna
Road Warrior
Received 312 Likes on 228 Posts

Evaporation is your friend. Don't compromise safety.