Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

open belt primary installation

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2014, 10:40 PM
Joedude
Novice
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Unhappy open belt primary installation

Hi all
I am new to this, any help would be appreciated, I have a sof tail springer 2006.
I had my local mecganic install an ultima open belt primary, looks great, problem is as I crank to start it does not fire up, on second crank it fires up, sometimes it fires sometimes needs a second crank, battery and charging is good, this all started as he installed the open primary,any ideas
It never did this before.
Joe

Old 09-21-2014, 11:25 PM
ctluba
Road Captain
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I cant imagine how installing an open belt primary would effect the bike starting. Sounds wierd. Check your plug wires, plugs, carb...I dont know.

Old 09-22-2014, 03:42 AM
Joedude
Novice

Hi
Yea can it be a coincidence that as I picked up bike this happens, I was worried thinking the mechanic did something wrong, my bike is injection so it something to do with ignition I would guess, plenty of cranks but no start, on second try it start.

I replaced the crank sensor still same thing, anybody has any ideas.
Joe

Old 09-22-2014, 08:26 AM
NDBadlands4-2
Extreme HDF Member
Received 66 Likes on 56 Posts

Unless something was bumped or moved during the installation, I can not think of what would connect the two issues. I will be interested to see what the answer is.

Old 09-22-2014, 02:17 PM
Hogpro
Former Sponsor
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts

The starter jackshaft has to be removed to install the new primary. Maybe it was not re installed properly?

Old 09-22-2014, 08:15 PM
FurryOne
Road Master
Received 127 Likes on 98 Posts

Originally Posted by Hogpro
The starter jackshaft has to be removed to install the new primary. Maybe it was not re installed properly?