Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2 into 1's - V&H vs Rinehart

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2015, 12:19 PM
BlessedHellride
Road Master
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts
Default 2 into 1's - V&H vs Rinehart

I bought my '08 Fat Boy last year with what looked like an older version of the Rinehart 2-1 already installed, and it sounded and seemed to perform well but I couldn't get past the tattered looks. A lot of ppl were saying how their quality had dropped over those years. I was torn between replacing it with the Pro Pipe and BS Long's, and found a good deal on a used pro pipe last week so I grabbed it and installed it this past weekend. The rear O2 sensor was gualded (spelling?) into the Rinehart pipe and stripped the O2 threads on the way out, but I hear that's pretty common (but what a bastard).
Performance-wise it feels the same, but I'm no expert in that matter. It's a little quieter than the Rinehart, and quieter than the BS Long's from what I remembered on my older Heritage, but when you get on the throttle it tends to get better sounding. Score 1 for looks, but a draw on performance? I have a SERT but I was told by the dealer tech that when replacing pipes, especially if going from 2-1 to a 2-1, that a remap wouldn't be needed.

Attached Thumbnails 2 into 1's - V&H vs Rinehart-pro-pipe.jpg   2 into 1's - V&H vs Rinehart-right-side-w-apes.jpg   2 into 1's - V&H vs Rinehart-rear.jpg   2 into 1's - V&H vs Rinehart-pro-pipe-rear.jpg  

Last edited by BlessedHellride; 03-19-2015 at 12:25 PM.
Old 03-19-2015, 12:50 PM
Mike Lawless
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 485 Likes on 324 Posts