Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for S&S E carb install tips

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2016, 04:41 PM
ThrillKilla
Advanced
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Looking for S&S E carb install tips

Hey All,
Im putting the 95 Softail under the wrench tomorrow. Installing an S&S E carb on the girl.
Anything I should look for, watch for?
Ill be running all stock, but the ThunderHeader exhaust.
Im a first timer with removing the manifold, and re install.
I picked up the E Carb from J&P

Old 07-30-2016, 06:47 AM
martin10
Road Warrior
Received 504 Likes on 327 Posts

One thing I have a lot of experience with is tuning carbs. I do not intend this to sound snarky even though it might. But since you are asking for advice. In my opinion the stock Keihin carb is superior in every way to the S&S. Especially if you use Keihin jets and not a Dynojet or similar kit. You can get better fuel mileage, better throttle response, altitude adjustment and as much power with the stock carb. As far as install tips. Put some vasoline on the intake seals where they go into the flange and snug them down in an X pattern. If you dont have one of the special allen wrenches made for this purpose you might have to cut off an allen wrench to get to the intake bolts. Looking at the back of the intake on the left side make sure the gap ends up being the same on both sides between the intake flange and the head. If it is off you risk having an intake leak. It is hard to get them exact. The S&S carb will most likely be too rich out of the box and you will have to experiment with the jetting. If it is too rich your bike will not run as well as it could. Start with a 28-295 intermediate jet. a 70-72 main jet and 2 1/2 turns. When adjusting the throttle cables make sure the throttle blade is opening all the way but with no over travel. If I have forgotten something hopefully someone else