Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I need help. 2003 Heritage Softail

Old 08-30-2016, 09:49 AM
dsbrooks
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy I need help. 2003 Heritage Softail

Ok, so I am completely new to HD. I've ridden dirt bikes all my life, and have finally bought my first cruiser. I LOVE IT.

I ride a 2003 Heritage Softail 100th anniversary. Fuel Injected. 6500 Miles

So here is my problem. I've had the bike a few weeks, put about 1000 miles on it back and forth to work, and weekend rides.

So last night, I am headed home from work, and it starts cutting out, and backfiring. So I pull over, and it starts right back up. It does this a couple more times on the way home, but I made it home. I checked the bike over last night, tightened battery cables, checked fluids, and done the simple things I knew to do. So this morning i get back on the bike headed to work, and it is still doing the same thing. So I made it about a mile from the house, and it will not start back up. So I pushed it back home, and I have no idea what to do now. HELP!!

Old 08-30-2016, 10:29 AM
IRON1250
Road Master
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts

Did you check the ground cables where they connect to the frame?

The following 2 users liked this post by IRON1250:
dsbrooks (08-30-2016), Spindrifter (08-31-2016)
Old 08-30-2016, 10:34 AM
dsbrooks
6th Gear

I did not. Good point. I will check that when i get home. I talked to HD service tech, and he seemed to be leaning toward a sensor being out.

Old 08-30-2016, 11:00 AM
dfwhockey17
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 283 Likes on 250 Posts