Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I'm still learning

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2008, 10:13 AM
cspcrx
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm still learning

So i just figured out that the Custom and Deuce have a different headlight shell. That explains why they look better! My question is can take one and do a direct install onto my FXST? Per my 2007 shop manual it looks like the wiring is different. I know I would need the shell and mount but it doesnt look like it will plug right in. I want to change mine and I can pick up one of these for a lot less then a custom unit and just add a bezel. Anyone done this?

Old 01-28-2008, 11:15 AM
In Memoriam Citoriplus
May our Moderator Rest in Peace
Received 25 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: I'm still learning

According to my 07 parts manual the headlights are different, however the plugs have the samepart number. So you have to assume that the Deuce headlight will plug right in. You "might" have to move the pins for different connections, but I highly doubt it. Its far more common and cheaper for the MOCO, or any other company for that matter to use a common wiring setup than it is to change itfor different models.
Not sure which bezel your trying to fit to which housing so I can't help you out with that.

BTW when it come to the "still learing" thing, its normal, we're all still learning. Just think of it this way, the day you stop learing is the same one they throw dirt in your face.

Old 01-28-2008, 01:28 PM
Harley_Dude
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 102 Likes on 68 Posts

Just put a Deuce shell on a 2004 FXST that a buddy hit a deer on, works great. You need a different mount, unless you use the shell from a 1200 XL custom (same shell different mount) And yes the Deuce shell looks way cooler!

Old 01-28-2008, 04:37 PM
cspcrx
Tourer