Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Softail Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-15-2008, 09:58 AM
blackness blackness is offline
Prospect
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Default Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

I posted this same question in the front end tech section but didn't get enough info, so here goes again...

I tried a search as I'm sure this has been over before but either the search is not currently working or I am too stupid to figure it out. Itjust gives me an error message that says no matches.

I am trying to get the wires out of my handlebar switch plugsto lengthen them on my '07 Nightrain. I've done this before on a Sporty I had, but these plugs are different and I can't figure out how to release the pins to get the wires out. Below is a pic ofthe connector on each set of switches. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

[IMG]local://upfiles/50095/41CBCC6DCF7A4EE58CDB82A9B3A56D63.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/50095/ACD7365868B04239AC68C0ACC57BD0DB.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/50095/F050E25B6CCB4EE59BBA49B2441EF85F.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
Nightrain is gone... 07 Police E-Glide now under construction!
~Mike~
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:04 AM
Hdbiker1450 Hdbiker1450 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lebanon, Missouri
Posts: 1,553
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

Kinda blurry, but they look about the same as the plug-ins inside the nacelle of my RK. They should just pull apart. You might try squeezing on the sides and pulling at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:05 AM
The Baron The Baron is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 1,899
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

What's the backside look like?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:10 AM
hspring03's Avatar
hspring03 hspring03 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 3,384
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

It is described in detail in the service manual.

There are a type of hook and latch type of system. Either the black boot slides down or the white insert inside comes out and exposes the bottoms of the connector. With a precision screw driver carefully release the bottom of the latch while pulling the wire out. Do not yank it out...


Before you do any of it make sure you write down the configuration of the wires.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:24 AM
Citoriplus's Avatar
Citoriplus Citoriplus is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,316
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

I'm doing something similar to mine and its not all that hard. You just need to have or make a couple of tools.
In the end of the connector you can see the pins, a pair of "D" shaped holes in the middle and smaller holes alongside the pins. Those are how it comes 'apart'.
Before you do ANYTHING, make a good diagram, I take pics too, of the position of each and every wire.

To get it apartyou need to release the pin locks and to do it you need to get a large paper clip, I used a dental tool, straighten the clip out and put a 90 degree on the end about an 1/8" long. Just so you can slip it into one of the 'D' shaped holes. Pull out on the clip till it snaps, it should move the white pieceabout 3/16" and stop.
That releases the pin lock.
Next take a smaller paper clip that will fit in the holes alongside the pins. Straighten it out so you can push into the hole about 1/2 to 3/4" in. When you do it don'tpull on the wire or it will make it a lot harder, pushing in on the other hand makes it a little easier, you'll feel it snap into the pins latch releasing it. While you hold the clip in gently pull the wire out the back and it should come straight out. If it doesn't come right outits not fully released and you need to fool with the clip a bit more. But once its in the right place the wire and pin come out fairly easy.

Good luck.
__________________
07 FXSTC
Thunder Max w/Autotune
V&H Big Radius, ScreamJet intake

U.S. Army Vietnam Vet
FOR THOSE WHO FOUGHT FOR IT - FREEDOM HAS A PRICE THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW.

IF IGNORANCE IS BLISS, YOU'D THINK MORE PEOPLE WOULD BE HAPPY.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:29 AM
Nostalgic07's Avatar
Nostalgic07 Nostalgic07 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 693
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

Quote:
ORIGINAL: blackness

I posted this same question in the front end tech section but didn't get enough info, so here goes again...

I tried a search as I'm sure this has been over before but either the search is not currently working or I am too stupid to figure it out. Itjust gives me an error message that says no matches.

I am trying to get the wires out of my handlebar switch plugsto lengthen them on my '07 Nightrain. I've done this before on a Sporty I had, but these plugs are different and I can't figure out how to release the pins to get the wires out. Below is a pic ofthe connector on each set of switches. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

[IMG]local://upfiles/50095/41CBCC6DCF7A4EE58CDB82A9B3A56D63.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/50095/ACD7365868B04239AC68C0ACC57BD0DB.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/50095/F050E25B6CCB4EE59BBA49B2441EF85F.jpg[/IMG]
The procedure is in the Service Manual towards the back of the book!! If you don't have a manual, check this out....http://www.molex.com/cmc_upload/0/00...usermanual.pdf
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2008, 02:27 PM
gunner065's Avatar
gunner065 gunner065 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 734
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

I just did mine. The two D saped holes are used to disengage the secondary lock. Just insert a pair of neddle nose pliers into the holes and pull up gently. It will come up a bit allowing you to remove the wires with a paper clip from the other end. Make a drawing of the wire locations. Also, as Citoriplus said, invest in a service manual. It is worth it.
__________________
Love your freedom? Thank a Vet.

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff163/gunner065/mod1-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2008, 03:13 PM
Citoriplus's Avatar
Citoriplus Citoriplus is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,316
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gunner065
Also, as Citoriplus said, invest in a service manual. It is worth it.
Nope, I didn't say it, this time.
But I have said itenough before that I should have done it again.
__________________
07 FXSTC
Thunder Max w/Autotune
V&H Big Radius, ScreamJet intake

U.S. Army Vietnam Vet
FOR THOSE WHO FOUGHT FOR IT - FREEDOM HAS A PRICE THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW.

IF IGNORANCE IS BLISS, YOU'D THINK MORE PEOPLE WOULD BE HAPPY.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2008, 03:20 PM
gunner065's Avatar
gunner065 gunner065 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 734
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Citoriplus

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gunner065
Also, as Citoriplus said, invest in a service manual. It is worth it.
Nope, I didn't say it, this time.
But I have said itenough before that I should have done it again.
Your right, didn't mean to say you said something that you didn'y say. If you understand that jibberish.
__________________
Love your freedom? Thank a Vet.

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff163/gunner065/mod1-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2008, 07:25 AM
ronyd's Avatar
ronyd ronyd is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 852
Default RE: Removing wires from handlebar switch plugs

blackness, should be a piece of cake for you. I posted how to do all this on other threads. You can just search for my ID, which references the molex guide. Anyways, just get pair of "small" needle nose pliers. Insert plies into the 2 small center holes in connector, and pull up. This is the secondary lock. Pulls up a small amount. Then all you need to do is use a small paper clip. Insert clip into the small hole adjacent to the pin. Wiggle the clip alittle as you tug on the wire. Should come right out.

Depending on what your doing, if you need to extend your wires, you got 3 options: buy extension wire kit; buy the pins and extend yourselfl; cut wires and extend. I took the option of buyiong pins and extending myself. I also had access to the right crimp tool. Didn;t like the option of cutting wires, simply because you hasve to stagger all you connections, which takes up more spacing and bulk. I would also strip off the cable casing, and use shrink wrapping. Makes a much tighter cable bundle, easier to pull, and tank goes back on much easier.

feel free to ask more questions...
__________________

07' Deluxe, Chubby 504 bars, J.E.T. airstack ,Springer Running Light
MeanCityCycles seat mod, SoftBrake license relo kit
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:25 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply


Tags
2008, boy, connector, davidson, fat, handlebar, handlebars, harley, heritage, molex, motorcycle, pins, plugs, remove, removing, softail, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.