Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

heat... just deal with it?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2008, 11:53 PM
meccariello
Banned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default heat... just deal with it?

yea yea... i am sure this is an old topic, but i am a noob... plus this is my first harley

so heat... i live in florida, and the '08 is hot hot hot. i suppose this is "normal", but seems "not so normal"... am i going to fry my bike or should i just "deal with it... thats a harley"?

Old 06-26-2008, 12:11 AM
tunaman
Road Warrior
Received 308 Likes on 203 Posts
Default RE: heat... just deal with it?

Living in warmer climes, I'd suggest deciding your way of enrichening the fuel ratio and deal with it. There, like here in Southern California, it gets far too hot in my opinion to just live with it. Do your research, install a solution (PC III, Thundermax, SERT, Fuel Pak, etc.), make sure it is tuned properly (have it dyno'd if necessary), change over to synthetic lubricants so that they don't break down as easily, and ride as much as you can.
&nbsp\\;
Roger

Old 06-26-2008, 12:32 AM
Agentorange
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You should already have synthetics in it since its an 08 but i agree that a good tuning might be in order. Those 96's do run hot. Get a thermometer oil cap and keep an eye on it.

Old 06-26-2008, 03:31 AM
djcustom1
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

put a oil cooler on it, that will help allso

[IMG]local://upfiles/58656/83E6A06A99DE4161909C4E77CB9BFE55.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/58656/1998FC90F44D47D496EB54EFF5D84EBA.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/58656/0C7F4D1EF8124ED4835C005E1D2B8F91.jpg[/IMG]

Old 06-26-2008, 03:47 AM
deadeye
Road Warrior
Received 92 Likes on 57 Posts

XIED will fix the heat problem for $100
Install it yourself in a few minutes.

http://www.nightrider.com/parts/

Old 06-26-2008, 06:36 AM
tk353
Ultimate HDF Member