Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Gaurds - Mustache compared to Traditional for Protection

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2008, 01:04 AM
KumaRide
Elite HDF Member
Received 185 Likes on 146 Posts
Default Engine Gaurds - Mustache compared to Traditional for Protection

I just started riding and jumped in the deep end with a Fatboy. A couple friends are telling me I should try to protect me and the bike as best as possible right now, and add some engine gaurds. I like the looks of the mustache style but Im not sure if the normal ones provide more protection? If they do provide more protection, in what way - for me, the bike...&nbsp\\; If the bike is dropped from a dead stop or slow moving roll, will the bike roll over further with mustache gaurds but not with traditional? Trying to understand where the benifits are, if any, with the normal style gaurds.

Apologies if these questions sound lame.

Old 06-28-2008, 08:04 AM
jimmers1817
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Engine Gaurds - Mustache compared to Traditional for Protection

Curious about that myself.&nbsp\\;&nbsp\\; I have the moustache's on my Heritage.&nbsp\\;&nbsp\\; I chose them because I liked the look and the fact that they can be used as a footrest.&nbsp\\;
&nbsp\\;
When my wife got her Deluxe last month&nbsp\\;first thing we put on were engine guards.&nbsp\\; Good thing too because she dropped it twice during parking lot practice.&nbsp\\; It was&nbsp\\;a tough choice between the nostalgic and moustaches.&nbsp\\;&nbsp\\;In the end she&nbsp\\;liked the looks of the moustache better.
&nbsp\\;
The one time she dropped it, the&nbsp\\;left passing lamp trim ring got a small dent in it and the clutch&nbsp\\;mount got a small scratch.&nbsp\\;The&nbsp\\;guard&nbsp\\;did it's job in protecting the expensive&nbsp\\;parts.
&nbsp\\;