Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fat Boy pulls left

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2008, 09:51 PM
plane
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fat Boy pulls left

I have followed many threads regarding this problem but I haven't read any real solution.

I personally think it's rear wheel alignment. I jacked up the bike tonight and laying on the creeper I noticed that my drive belt is riding on one side of the rear pulley (the pulley is wider than the belt). Now I'm no expert here but I'd think that by using the axle jacking bolts (after loosening the rear axle) I could fine tune the belt to ride in the center of the rear pulley.&nbsp\\; I know this affects the belt tension so that has to be factored in. When I adjust my bandsaw this is basically what I do...change the camber to make the blade ride center.

Now many will say live with it because all Harleys do it but I think its probably too much trouble for the service departments to deal with. They have there 2lb rule and so be it. I just don't think its quite right and I also think it affects tire wear. I've read so many many messages of some people getting very low mileage on rear tires and others getting 3 and 4 times higher mileage. Sure driving style has a lot to do with it but I've read many threads where the owner is not aggressive on the throttle and only gets 3k on his rear tire.

I'm going to find out if I'm right because I'm going to center my drive belt and see if the bike still pulls left.

Old 06-28-2008, 09:58 PM
deadeye1340?
Cruiser
Default RE: Fat Boy pulls left

Rear wheel alignment may be what your issue is, but another thing to think about is the crown in the road.&nbsp\\; All roads&nbsp\\;are crowned somewhat to make the water run off.&nbsp\\; This might give you a slight pull too.

Old 06-28-2008, 10:46 PM
plane
Road Captain

Good point deadeye

Old 06-29-2008, 05:16 AM