Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

04 Train or 05 Fatboy - Need input.

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2008, 11:26 PM
mjp750
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 Train or 05 Fatboy - Need input.

yes, I'm a rookie, but I've searched and couldn't find an answer, so be merciful.

I'm 6 foot, 235 lbs. I've ridden miscellaneous bikes for a while, but going to get my first Harley... not new, but will be new to me... I have narrowed the choice down to an '04 Night Train with some extras (2-1 rinehart, new saddle, blah, blah) - very clean with about 3500 miles and an '05 Fatboy with smaller extras (grips, pegs, foot boards, highway pegs...) equally clean with about 6500 miles on it.

Never going to be my primary mode of transportation and don't expect to ever be on for more than 3 hours without an hour long break and probably never more than 6 hours a day... wife already has her sportster (I know I'll be stopping more often than every 3 hours...) and doubt I will ever really have a guest on board - and probably minimal extra trip weight.

I am well and truly torn between these 2 bikes. both nicely equipped, both reasonable mileage and will end up within about $500 of each other (and probably less) and are both within the financial range I'm working in.

I realize they are fairly different types of bikes, but they will both satisfy my minimal travel requirements. I need insight from folks with real world experience on either or both of these steeds. mpg insight, repair bills, comfort, anything that you wish someone had told you about your bike before you purchased it.

I don't expect to really be able to go wrong with either of them and I know it's my decision, but I'd rather be more informed than less. Thanks in advance for your time and your help.

Mike

Old 08-27-2008, 12:01 AM
Mr. Lucky
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts