Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice - Fatboy vs. Deluxe

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2008, 09:44 AM
FrankT
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice - Fatboy vs. Deluxe

Hello, I am a newbie and I am looking to buy my first HD. I test rode a 2008 Deluxe and loved it! I am leaning toward the 2009 Fatboy (more in my budget) but I have never ridden one. I was told by several dealers that the Fatboy would ride the same as the Deluxe. Can anyone confirm or offer any advice? Thanks.

Old 09-24-2008, 10:01 AM
I8SMK4U
Tourer

Both are Softail Models. FL Series. Good choice. Now you can go for looks.

Do you want to look like Arnold in Terminator on the FatBoy, or do you want to look like a cool Retro bro on a classic HD. The Deluxe is styled after the old Chevy Deluxe from the 40's.

I love my Heritage Classic. The styling of the White Walls, and the large FL Fender in the front.

To me from the only difference is the seat, handle bars, and front fender.

Old 09-24-2008, 10:05 AM
I8SMK4U
Tourer

If your gonna throw down that much dough anyways get what you want.

You only get one first bike.

Old 09-24-2008, 10:08 AM
VigilantOutlaw
Road Master
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts

I also looked at both bikes before deciding on a Deluxe, the turning point for me was the solid wheels on the Fatboy. I had talked to a few owners of Fats and they all confirmed in a cross wind the bike would almost get away from them, one guy lost his on the way back from the dealership when a tractor trailer passed him (this could have been driver error ???).
This is just one thing to factor in your decision. In no way am I dissing the Fatboy they are fine looking bikes, I'm sure you will hear from owners and their experiences.

Old 09-24-2008, 10:13 AM
VigilantOutlaw
Road Master
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts

I liked the nostalgic look of the Deluxe too!

Old 09-24-2008, 10:18 AM