Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

06 Fatboy oil level

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2008, 02:32 PM
P'colaHarley-17RGS
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 49 Likes on 32 Posts
Default 06 Fatboy oil level

Bought my 06 FLSTFI on the 4th of Oct. Dealer assured me that bike had been inspected and fluids changed etc... Checked oil last night and it looked low to me? Granted this is my 1st bike so I'm not as up-to-speed as most of you.

If someone could give me an idea of how far up the stick I should see oil it might help me know for sure. I am new to owning a bike and I didn't get the owner's manual with this bike. ALSO, I was told earlier this morning that I had checked it while the bike was leaning on the kick-stand and should leveled the bike as much as possible before taking my readings?

When I checked the oil level last night it only came up just slightly above the fat triangular-shaped portion of the stick and, like I said, the bike was leaning.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Old 10-26-2008, 02:37 PM
ngoti8tor
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If I was in your situation, I would have insisted upon a manual for the bike. In the manual it tells you how the oil should be checked.
I don't know about the 2006 model, but my 2008 manual states that the oil should be checked after bringing the engine to operating temperature, with the bike leaning on the jiffy stand.

Old 10-26-2008, 02:50 PM
P'colaHarley-17RGS
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 49 Likes on 32 Posts

Originally Posted by ngoti8tor
If I was in your situation, I would have insisted upon a manual for the bike. In the manual it tells you how the oil should be checked.
I don't know about the 2006 model, but my 2008 manual states that the oil should be checked after bringing the engine to operating temperature, with the bike leaning on the jiffy stand.