Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just drilled my stock exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 12:46 PM
learfxr
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Just drilled my stock exhaust

I did some reading about drilling the stock mufflers and decided I was going to try it. I was planning to buy some Vance and Hines Big Shots soon anyway, so if I hated it I was ok.

I have a few odd drill bits since I am an aircraft mechanic and have done some odd structural mods on biz jets before. I used a 12" #30 drill bit to drill pilot holes in the round baffle plate inside the muffler. Then I used a long 1/4" bit to punch all the holes out larger. Then I used the round handle of a big breaker bar to knock out what was left of the plate. Yes, there are nicer ways to do it if you want to drive to the store and buy bits, but I used what was in my shop. It looks kinda ugly up in there with the jagged edges, but who gets on thier knees and looks up the pipes?

I like the sound so far. I just took it up the street about 2 blocks and came back home. Just had my reg glasses on and my eyes were watering something crazy. I didn't notice any decel popping during my short trip, so that's a good sign.

If you don't have cash for pipes and want some more sound, let the redneck come out in you and drill that sucker.

Old 11-11-2008, 02:10 PM
Cheesecake
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Congratulations!!
not many would attempt the mod....
and I'm sure that some will criticize...
but why waste a lot of money on a set of pipes if you just want to be heard!!

Old 11-11-2008, 05:08 PM
F117ewo
Cruiser

I hope you're happy with the result. I drilled the baffles on my SE-II slip-ons. It helped some.... At least I could take the baffles out to use my drill press.

I just hope you didn't lose too much mid-range power with your mod.

Jake

Old 11-11-2008, 05:57 PM