Where is the Data Link Connector? (2010 Heritage) - Harley Davidson Forums



Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Where is the Data Link Connector? (2010 Heritage)

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-16-2011, 09:34 AM
Keithhu's Avatar
Keithhu Keithhu is online now
Ultimate HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 9,088
Thanked 108 Times in 89 Posts
Default Where is the Data Link Connector? (2010 Heritage)

Folks - I'm installing the new Speedo/Tach combo, and in order to read the mileage onto the new speedo, you have to attach a supplied cable to the Data Link Connector, but I cant find it.

First I thought it was by/under the right passenger peg, there's a covered port there, but its a different connector type.

Then I looked under the seat, didn't see it. No reference to "Data Link Connector" in the service manual.

I'm about to open the console, maybe its in there? HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2011, 10:03 AM
YammyDrummer's Avatar
YammyDrummer YammyDrummer is online now
Road Captain
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 633
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Look around the right rear shock area. There is a covered connector down there that no one has been able to explain to me what it's use is. Could that be it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2011, 10:50 AM
Keithhu's Avatar
Keithhu Keithhu is online now
Ultimate HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 9,088
Thanked 108 Times in 89 Posts
Default

Its under the seat, I looked again, that was it.

Everything went great!

Mileage copy process worked as documented.

The only tricky part is to get speedo to go in and keep the gasket in the right place so that the rim metal is in the center gap part of the gasket without pinching, etc.

Here's my trick to make it easier: Put the gasket in the console. Then put some oil on your finger and run it around the plastic outer part of the speedo underneath the bezel. Slips right in!

Its too crappy out to ride, but I sparked it up in the garage, tweaked the throttle and the RPM gauge jumped, so its definitely working!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2011, 10:52 AM
TORQUEY's Avatar
TORQUEY TORQUEY is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Coast
Posts: 4,507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Let's see this unit!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2011, 10:54 AM
Keithhu's Avatar
Keithhu Keithhu is online now
Ultimate HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 9,088
Thanked 108 Times in 89 Posts
Default

Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECM Data Port Location- 2015 Limited DaveNBPT New "Rushmore" Models 5 09-06-2015 01:14 PM
Switching to Digital Speedo/Tachometer -- looking for Data Link Connector? The72 Sportster Models 5 08-01-2013 09:04 PM
where to find dlc on my fatbob mattygav Dyna Glide Models 5 01-06-2012 01:53 PM
Data Link Connector Motorbones Touring Models 0 08-13-2011 12:20 PM
Data Link Connector Kansan Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 3 11-28-2008 07:08 AM


Tags
09, 2010, 2011, conector, connector, crossbones, data, datalink, davidson, dyna, glide, harley, link, located, location, road, softail, super

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send