Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Softail Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:16 AM
toolbox's Avatar
toolbox toolbox is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 848
The Toolbox
Default Reseting factory alarm

Hello all, a fellow biker was riding his 05 deluxe last night, stopped for a rest & went to start his bike and it would not crank, The alarm is set,(signals flashing continously) & his key fob wont disarm it. I tried searching the do-it-yourself treads and found some good advice, I tried explaining it to him over the phone, but to no avail. I am going to check the bike out in the morning to try & figure it out. He doesnt have a manual & doesnt know the code. Any suggestions for me? OR does anyone on a 05 deluxe & have the factory reset procedure?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks agian.
TOOLBOX

[IMG]local://upfiles/11196/CB43523E02D5455A8C52F7EBF5523C3F.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
LIVE FREE RIDE HARD AND KEEP THE RUBBER SIDE DOWN
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:17 AM
jhugs92 jhugs92 is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 89
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

use the turn signal buttons, unless reset, it should still be set from the factory, i think all 1's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:21 AM
toolbox's Avatar
toolbox toolbox is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 848
The Toolbox
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

Do you happen to know the procedure? Im looking for my wifes o6 dyna book right now. I believe its the same? Thaks for the reply jhugs92
TOOLBOX
__________________
LIVE FREE RIDE HARD AND KEEP THE RUBBER SIDE DOWN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:24 AM
Citoriplus's Avatar
Citoriplus Citoriplus is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,348
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

Quote:
ORIGINAL: jhugs92

use the turn signal buttons, unless reset, it should still be set from the factory, i think all 1's
I "think" you have to turn the ignition on and off while holding the left button, then it should show a blinking dash or something in the odometer. THen you need to hit the left button till it gets to 1 then set it with the right button, left button again till it gets to 1 set it with the right again. Keep doing that till its all 1's and it should allow you to switch the ignition on and start the bike.
Be warned, if you shut it off you have to go through the entire process again to restart it. So my advice would be to get a new battery for the fob FIRST, then you may not have to bother.


Ps I am "assuming" that he never reset it from the factory 11111 setting.
__________________
07 FXSTC
Thunder Max w/Autotune
V&H Big Radius, ScreamJet intake

U.S. Army Vietnam Vet
FOR THOSE WHO FOUGHT FOR IT - FREEDOM HAS A PRICE THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW.

IF IGNORANCE IS BLISS, YOU'D THINK MORE PEOPLE WOULD BE HAPPY.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:26 AM
toolbox's Avatar
toolbox toolbox is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 848
The Toolbox
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

Thanks Citoriplus, I will get to his house in the morning & pull this tread up and try it. Again...THANKS ALL.
TOOLBOX
__________________
LIVE FREE RIDE HARD AND KEEP THE RUBBER SIDE DOWN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:27 AM
toadmanor toadmanor is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 674
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

Turn to accesory

press and hold both turn signals until the security key in the dash flashes fast.

enter each number on the left turn signal and then press the right turn signal to advance to the next digit.

If the code was 1234 you would press left turn signal once then right once
left turn signal two times then right once
left turn signal three times then right once
left turn signal four times then right once

and it should disarm.

__________________
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/6...tcu2nm6.th.jpg

2007 Ultra Classic Jake & Ellwood Blue(S) PGR SE Air Cleaner Vance & Hines Duals Vance & Hines Ovals SERT
2008 Triumph Sped Triple
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:32 AM
toolbox's Avatar
toolbox toolbox is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 848
The Toolbox
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

Thanks toadmanor. I kinda thought it would be 1234 or 0000 because he doesnt remember ever setting a personal code. I will tryt all of this in the morning. Agian I say thanks...Isnt this a great forum! I will read the rest of the replys later, Everyone have a great day.
TOOLBOX
__________________
LIVE FREE RIDE HARD AND KEEP THE RUBBER SIDE DOWN
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:52 AM
Citoriplus's Avatar
Citoriplus Citoriplus is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,348
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

Forget what I posted before. I found the instructions for my 07's system. But I'm not sure its the same as the one in the 05's.
I'll type it out for you to try anyway. Finding the instructions made me realize that I better carry them with me or I may be in trouble, like your friend.

1. Turn IGN key to IGNITION and immediatly hold BOTH turn switches until 5 dashes appear in the odometer window.
2. Enter first digit (a) of code by pressing the left turn signal (a) times.
3. Press left turn switch one time.
repeat steps 2 & 3 till all 5 digits are displayed.

That should disarm the system and allow you to turn the ignition switch on and start the bike.

The system in my bike needs 5 digits to operate, and the factory setting is 11111 an all the new bikes. I haven't a clue what it may have been in 05.
One word of warning, if you turn it off for any reason, you need to reinput the security code again to restart it.
__________________
07 FXSTC
Thunder Max w/Autotune
V&H Big Radius, ScreamJet intake

U.S. Army Vietnam Vet
FOR THOSE WHO FOUGHT FOR IT - FREEDOM HAS A PRICE THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW.

IF IGNORANCE IS BLISS, YOU'D THINK MORE PEOPLE WOULD BE HAPPY.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2006, 01:15 AM
softail2005 softail2005 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 644
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm

I know this is crazy, but I had the same problem with my 05 Deluxe and all I did is switch off the main ignition switch on the tank and back on, it set off the alarm. I then held the key fob down by the horn and hit it twice and the darn thing went off. I could then start my bike. Its like rebooting a computer.

Worth a try since setting off the alarm will allow it to make noise for a time then it will reset itself. If you cannot get the alarm to go off then you have to reset it. If the bike was tipped over I think you have to cycle the ignition switch off and on twice. The switch on the tank not the handlebar.
__________________
2005 Softail Deluxe-Black
V&H BigShotStaggered
Fuelpak
SE-AC
Patriot Guard Member

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i4..._July_2006.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-28-2006, 09:06 AM
Cruiser 1970's Avatar
Cruiser 1970 Cruiser 1970 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 762
Default RE: Reseting factory alarm


Look in the "Do it Yourself help forum" under "Engine Diagnostics , Alarm, and Fuel Injection Issues". http://www.hdforums.com/forumid_247/tt.htm There are several topics that deal with the alarm. Hope this helps.
__________________
Dave 2006FXSTI
http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k23/Gundog2007/th_sigpix.jpg
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 09:06 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tear Drop Toolbox for 2010 Deluxe Soup33 Softail Models 7 07-03-2013 12:22 PM
Chrome Softail toolbox on a Sportster??? brenn Sportster Models 2 12-18-2010 05:30 PM
Chrome Toolbox on 2008 Deluxe jwilson77 Softail Models 7 08-28-2008 01:02 AM
07 streetglide--need help disarming alarm toolbox Touring Models 28 08-24-2008 12:24 PM
Factory fitted alarm Swiss Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 2 12-04-2007 09:40 AM


Tags
2005, 2007, alarm, davidson, deluxe, factory, harley, horn, night, reset, security, set, softail, system, train, turn


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.