Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Softail Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:40 PM
fish-r-ride fish-r-ride is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grapeland Texas
Posts: 251
Default Rear brake light switch

Last night I noticed my brake lights were on while riding. Don't know how long it been doing it. Thought it might be the module that makes the rear turn signals into running lights and brake light but when I took it off same problem. So I pulled one wire off the rear brake switch and it goes out. Hit the front brakes light works fine. My question is, is this something common. Could there be something causing this or has the switch just gone bad. I mean the bike is an '08 so it's not that old. Good thing is I can still ride because I always use my front brakes also.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:07 PM
RocketRocker's Avatar
RocketRocker RocketRocker is offline
Road Master
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Posts: 933
Default

i would replace the switch, was the button on the switch damaged(broken)? Sometimes the wires when routed incorrectly will get smashed and short out too...
__________________
2013 Streetglide
2008 Rocker C
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:17 PM
fish-r-ride fish-r-ride is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grapeland Texas
Posts: 251
Default

I will replace the switch. I don't think the wires are damaged because the light goes off when I disconnected it from the switch. I'm sure the switch just went bad but I don't see how it could,but it's mechanical so anything could go wrong. Good thing is it doesn't look that hard to replace, but I'm a long ways from the nearest Harley place.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:37 PM
Kowan's Avatar
Kowan Kowan is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So California
Posts: 7,882
Default

You'll need to drain the rear brake fluid and refill/bleed the brake once you've replaced the switch.
I used teflon pipe dope I got at Home Depot on the switch threads when I replaced the stock brake line with a stainless one.
__________________

2008 FXCWC
1986 FXSTC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2011, 12:09 AM
trekez2's Avatar
trekez2 trekez2 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 301
Default

My rear brake pressure switch quit working in the on mode too. This caused so much heat it fried the bulb and bulb socket as well. I was able to buy and replace the socket/connector and bulb so I had front brake actavation. The pressure switch I discovered was a new banjo type (#72026-08) and was back ordered for several months. They just became available last week. To install I drained the fluid, installed the fitting along with two seal washers (#41731-01) using a bit of locktite blue and blead the line. All is well again. No one was willing to tell me how frequently this happens.
__________________
2009 FLHTC now gone
2008 FXDC Anniversary #943 - Riding still.
Riding 50+ years and counting.

Last edited by trekez2; 09-12-2011 at 10:38 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2011, 12:11 AM
1 2 many's Avatar
1 2 many 1 2 many is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: so cal
Posts: 122
aidenpeacemaker
Default Brake

I having the same issues rite know I suspect the pressure swicth
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:42 AM
Doug S Doug S is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,047
Default

Happens quite a bit, that same switch is used in a number of applications, some dateing back to my VW bug in the 60's... you don't have to drain any brake fluid and if you are quick about it you won't have to do much if any bleeding of the line but I always do just to be thurough.

D
__________________

"Bitch" 94 fxstc: Crane Cam, P & P heads, Cycle Shack M series, SE Ignition and Revera-Primo smoothie.

"Suede" 2000 FLSTS, Samsons, Stage One, pretty much stock.

PGR #261509
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:54 PM
DR. V-TWIN DR. V-TWIN is offline
Sponsor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 19,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug S View Post
Happens quite a bit, that same switch is used in a number of applications, some dateing back to my VW bug in the 60's... you don't have to drain any brake fluid and if you are quick about it you won't have to do much if any bleeding of the line but I always do just to be thurough.

D
I did it this way too. I got the switch at Autozone.

Drew
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:02 PM
Texas T's Avatar
Texas T Texas T is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 1,113
Default

Mine goes out about once a year on my 05' FLSTFSE

Never had to drain or bleed the brakes
__________________
05' FLSTFSE ~ T
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2011, 08:18 AM
fish-r-ride fish-r-ride is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grapeland Texas
Posts: 251
Default

Could ya'll tell me what this switch fits so I could go to Auto zone and get one. Hate to take it off and lose my brake fluid.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 08:18 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake light Jorojin Electrical/Lighting/Alarm 0 09-02-2014 07:08 PM
brake light switch punkmxcn Dyna Glide Models 7 04-27-2012 06:15 AM
Brake light will not go out iltbone1 Softail Models 4 09-19-2011 01:18 PM
Dang nabbit! Brake light will not go off Garcou Touring Models 13 03-06-2011 01:00 AM
Replacing Rear Brake Stop Light Switch Milwaukee 1 Touring Models 2 08-21-2010 12:17 AM


Tags
brake, break, davidson, harley, light, number, part, plunger, rear, rocker, rockerc, switch, touring, vrscr, work


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.