Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Softail Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-30-2011, 10:48 PM
MarineGAU's Avatar
MarineGAU MarineGAU is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Red face 2012 FLSTC Hi Low Beam Switch

Ok, installed some chrome switch covers today and they look pretty good. But, the Hi Lo Beam switch feels vefy sensitive and has to be pushed numerous times to keep it in Lo Beam. I took it back apart to see if I missed something. Looks like there should be two little silver "arrow" shaped paddles under the switch, problem is I only have one? Don't know if I lost the other and also don"t know if I have the "arrow" piece installed properly. I have the point on the "arrow" paddle pointing up and the "nock" part down inside the switch. Any one run into this before? Any ideas on how many of these little pieces there are suppose to be and which way they should be installed in the switch. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2011, 11:28 PM
BassCatcher's Avatar
BassCatcher BassCatcher is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Posts: 4,298
Default

I assume this is a non HD part. Why don't you contact the company where you bought them and talk to their tech support. Maybe they can send you a schematic showing the layout for those paddles.
__________________
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h285/Bassamatic/IMG_1956.jpg 2011 Heritage


If you get to thinkin' you're a person of some influence, try orderin' somebody else's dog around..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2011, 11:57 PM
MarineGAU's Avatar
MarineGAU MarineGAU is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Default

Actually these are the Chrome Switch Covers that the dealership carries?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:46 PM
MarineGAU's Avatar
MarineGAU MarineGAU is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Thumbs up

Ok, I have the answer and I think anyone who tries to change out their switch covers to the chrome switch covers sold by HD might find this useful. When removing the original Hi-low beam switch there are two small silver shaped pieces of metal that just sit in the switch under the cover and these can pop out very easily during cover removal. These must be installed in the slots under the switch cover with the pointed end facing up before installing the chrome switch cover or the switch will not properly lock in the Hi or Low beam position. (mine didn't work properly because I lost one of them on the floor). After I found the second metal piece on the floor and installed it as mentioned above, it works right now and they look good as well!! Hope someone else finds this info helpful if they go to change out the original switch covers with the HD chrome switch covers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:49 PM
checkers checkers is online now
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: East Tn
Posts: 2,632
Default

Good info to know, thanks
__________________
East Tn Dragonslayer+ 18 Wheeler Pilot
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:09 PM
poppavein's Avatar
poppavein poppavein is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pacific NorthWest Territory
Posts: 932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarineGAU View Post
These must be installed in the slots under the switch cover with the pointed end facing up before installing the chrome switch cover or the switch will not properly lock in the Hi or Low beam position.
They can lock in Hi beam? A minor frustration I've had is that I always run with Hi beam on but it gets reset when the bike gets turned off, so that I have to hit Hi beam every time I start up.

I figured it was because of the new HDLAN system. Not true? Can you set it to Hi beam and it always stays that way?
__________________
"You didn't build that."

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:30 PM
MarineGAU's Avatar
MarineGAU MarineGAU is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Default

Good question! I just went and checked it out. It will stay in which ever position the switch is selected to even if shut-off and restarted. Just wondering though, is'nt there more current draw when starting the engine with the lights selected to Hi beam? I always shut off my aux lights and make sure Low beam is selected when starting and then turn on the aux lights after up and running. On the Heritage, the aux lights are on either side next to the head light and they go off anytime Hi beam is selected ( as far as I know this is how it is suppose to work). I like having the aux lights on anytime I am driving just to help those cagers see me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2012, 08:57 PM
jlasoftail jlasoftail is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: P.E.I. Canada
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarineGAU View Post
Good question! I just went and checked it out. It will stay in which ever position the switch is selected to even if shut-off and restarted. Just wondering though, is'nt there more current draw when starting the engine with the lights selected to Hi beam? I always shut off my aux lights and make sure Low beam is selected when starting and then turn on the aux lights after up and running. On the Heritage, the aux lights are on either side next to the head light and they go off anytime Hi beam is selected ( as far as I know this is how it is suppose to work). I like having the aux lights on anytime I am driving just to help those cagers see me.
If you search the threads, you'll find a fairly easy mod to be able the keep the lamps on. There's also other bulb options out there for your headlight so that you don't add as much draw while you have your hi beams and lamps on at the same time. Oh, and yes it would take a little more draw to start the bike with everything turned on, and I guess I never really thought about it before... My lamps are always on when I start. I'm sure my decompression helps a little too though. Never had a hard time starting her...
__________________

'09 FLSTC (sold)
'06 XL1200R (sold)

Real Pic on it's way!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:09 PM
MarineGAU's Avatar
MarineGAU MarineGAU is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Default

Do you remember what topic that mod might be under on the forum? I may like to look into that?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2012, 11:12 AM
MarineGAU's Avatar
MarineGAU MarineGAU is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Default

Found it! Had to do a Google search to find it on the forums. Looks easy enough. I think I will go buy the Maint. Manual first before I do the mod just to be sure the wire colors are correct. Thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:12 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gps issues rotcart New "Rushmore" Models 16 07-26-2014 08:09 PM
Cruise Control & PTT Paddles should be reversed stellarpod New "Rushmore" Models 77 03-23-2014 12:11 PM
Blowing headlight fuses jamess71 Touring Models 27 12-12-2013 04:35 PM
84 Heritage ignition switch wiring question ( pic ) JimInMich Evo Classic Models 31 05-23-2013 09:04 PM
Awful experience with PremierHIDlights.com frenchbiker General Harley Davidson Chat 81 10-11-2012 07:09 AM


Tags
2000, 2012, aux, beam, bulb, fatboy, flstc, headlamp, hi, lights, low, number, part, problem, softail, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.