CANBUS wiring - Harley Davidson Forums



Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

CANBUS wiring

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-30-2012, 05:20 PM
Deadanimal's Avatar
Deadanimal Deadanimal is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: England, Feltwell area
Posts: 298
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default CANBUS wiring

Has anyone messed with the new CANBUS wiring? I want to do some mods but don't want to mess anything up in the process...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2012, 06:42 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

What kind of mods? don't ever modify any canbus wires, usually a twisted pair. Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2012, 07:24 PM
FroggyFatBoy's Avatar
FroggyFatBoy FroggyFatBoy is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western MD
Posts: 2,452
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

canbus wiring is very sensitive to poor connections and improper repairs.. some signal wires work in the .25 volt range (at least on cars they do), so any increased resistance will put a wrench in the works so to speak..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2012, 09:37 AM
Deadanimal's Avatar
Deadanimal Deadanimal is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: England, Feltwell area
Posts: 298
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmc115 View Post
What kind of mods? don't ever modify any canbus wires, usually a twisted pair. Mike
I'm changing out the bars to 16" apes and bought the NAMZ extensions for the 11-12's and I'm also hoping to use an LED tail light/turn signal integrated unit but when I pulled the stock assembly I put it right back on after what I saw. And the dang aftermarket unit did not have one bit of instructions with it... Imagine that!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2012, 01:27 PM
Misbehaven's Avatar
Misbehaven Misbehaven is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheboygan,Wi
Posts: 4,479
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadanimal View Post
I'm changing out the bars to 16" apes and bought the NAMZ extensions for the 11-12's and I'm also hoping to use an LED tail light/turn signal integrated unit but when I pulled the stock assembly I put it right back on after what I saw. And the dang aftermarket unit did not have one bit of instructions with it... Imagine that!
Kind of in the same boat, but not changing the bars. I want to relocate my turn signals to the forks. They are hard wired to the hand controls. Thinking about taking apart the signals and lengthening the wires and running them back through the handle bars and down through the triple trees. But now I see this thread I am second guessing my self.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:09 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Not the whole bike is can bus (Controller Area Network) which is used for modules to communicate. Outputs like turn signals should be fine (i did not look up a wiring diagram though). On most vehicles can wires are in a twisted pair to create a field to keep interference out and if you see twisted pair of wires, do not cut into. It would be a good idea to get a wiring diagram. Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:19 PM
Fierofly's Avatar
Fierofly Fierofly is offline
Supporter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bossier City, LA
Posts: 491
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmc115 View Post
Not the whole bike is can bus (Controller Area Network) which is used for modules to communicate. Outputs like turn signals should be fine (i did not look up a wiring diagram though). On most vehicles can wires are in a twisted pair to create a field to keep interference out and if you see twisted pair of wires, do not cut into. It would be a good idea to get a wiring diagram. Mike
On a little maybe related topic. I've moved my coil and lengthened the coil wires using a wire crimp. Now I'm wondering if I might have caused a problem with the Ion sensing spark knock detection by messing with the resistance in those lengthed wires? What do you think?

I'm in the process of fine tuning with a Power Vision and I'm not real confident in me spark knock, feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:23 PM
FroggyFatBoy's Avatar
FroggyFatBoy FroggyFatBoy is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western MD
Posts: 2,452
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

RMC is correct, the only wires you don't want to mess with is the actual communication wiring between modules. indiviual components and their wiring like lights, solenoids, horns, etc... that are controlled by the individual modules are ok to work with.


PS, you're turn signals are hard wired to the switchs. the turn sig switch that you push just sends a signal to the turn signal module, the turn signal module then sends 12v's out to the lights.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:27 PM
FroggyFatBoy's Avatar
FroggyFatBoy FroggyFatBoy is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western MD
Posts: 2,452
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fierofly View Post
On a little maybe related topic. I've moved my coil and lengthened the coil wires using a wire crimp. Now I'm wondering if I might have caused a problem with the Ion sensing spark knock detection by messing with the resistance in those lengthed wires? What do you think?

I'm in the process of fine tuning with a Power Vision and I'm not real confident in me spark knock, feedback.

you are talking about the actual wiring and not the coil to plug wire correct ?

I would think you would be ok as long as you made a good solid connection with the correct guage wire.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:27 PM
rmc115's Avatar
rmc115 rmc115 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka,Indiana
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fierofly View Post
On a little maybe related topic. I've moved my coil and lengthened the coil wires using a wire crimp. Now I'm wondering if I might have caused a problem with the Ion sensing spark knock detection by messing with the resistance in those lengthed wires? What do you think?

I'm in the process of fine tuning with a Power Vision and I'm not real confident in me spark knock, feedback.
I am not sure on the ion sensing tech but doubt if the primary wiring if done correctly will affect it. Most problems come from secondary issues, non oem plugs and wires. Mike
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
harley Canbus tech oakmossy Touring Models 9 11-10-2015 12:45 PM
Trailer hitch wiring Casper Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models 9 09-17-2014 11:30 PM
CANBUS HD Lan Help FASTnLOUDfxdwg Dyna Glide Models 8 08-15-2014 08:31 PM
2012 Can/Bus System with Beach Bars Elmwood Deluxe Softail Models 4 01-03-2014 02:53 PM
Are 2011 Harleys CANBUS? Retrax Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 7 05-15-2013 08:23 AM


Tags
broadcasting, canbus, connection, diagram, diagrams, family, georgia, hdtv, industry, mybb, names, powered, public, radio, receiver, stereo, tree, vbulletin, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.