Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Softail Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:02 PM
ghoticov's Avatar
ghoticov ghoticov is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 3,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixshooter View Post
Your stock cables will reach 12" apes??? I put 12" apes on mine and my stock cables were nowhere even close to reaching. Lucky for me a complete set of diamondback cables came with my wild1's, because I was not looking forward to spending another 300 bucks.
What handlebars came on your bike stock?

Mine came with stock mini apes and they measure about 12" (maybe 11"...hard to tell exactly) and they are on 1" risers. So my thought was that I could go with the 12" Wild 1 Outlawz and be able to use my stock wiring... that size was comfortable to me on my stocks but I like the way the Outlawz look better and I wanted the wiring internal.
__________________
2007 Dyna Low Rider
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:04 PM
ghoticov's Avatar
ghoticov ghoticov is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 3,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Chester View Post
I went with the chromite lines from magnum shielding when I put 16" gangster apes on my 08 heritage. I ended up going +8" on everything and it worked out great, the clutch and throttle are real smooth way better than my stock HD lines and they look awesome. When I did my sporty I went with 14" Burly narrow apes and their 14" cable kit. The Burly cable kit is great and I am not trying to knock their product in anyway but I did notice a differance in how smooth the opperation was. I am sure there are many other variables as well as the lines. The Burly cables are all black and while they work on my sporty since it is satin black to begin with I gotta say the chrome lines on the heritage just have a lot more of a finished look to them.
Cool. From the looks of the Magnum Shielding website, those Chromite cables do look nice. That's probably the route I will take if my cables are too short for the new bars. Once I know if the switch housing cables will work, that should tell me whether the stock throttle/idle, brake and clutch cables will work also.

If not, looks like I will be buying cables from Magnum Shielding. If anyone knows of any other lines (other than the HD ones), please let me know.
__________________
2007 Dyna Low Rider
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:12 PM
sixshooter's Avatar
sixshooter sixshooter is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghoticov View Post
What handlebars came on your bike stock?

Mine came with stock mini apes and they measure about 12" (maybe 11"...hard to tell exactly) and they are on 1" risers. So my thought was that I could go with the 12" Wild 1 Outlawz and be able to use my stock wiring... that size was comfortable to me on my stocks but I like the way the Outlawz look better and I wanted the wiring internal.
Not sure on exact size, I wanna say my stock risers were 6" and the bars were another 4" rise?? I've got 1.5" risers with my 12" apes now. If your bars are that close to your stockers tho, you should be fine.
__________________
'14 Sand Camo Street Glide
89 Sporty 883 Hugger - 1200 Big Bore Kit - The bobber project

U.S. Navy Seabee Veteran, CM2 2001-06
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:20 PM
rooti's Avatar
rooti rooti is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Braunfels, Texas
Posts: 5,425
Default

Be careful with that front master cylinder. If you don't keep it level it can leak and will soak through the towels and ruin your paint.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:22 PM
ghoticov's Avatar
ghoticov ghoticov is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 3,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixshooter View Post
Not sure on exact size, I wanna say my stock risers were 6" and the bars were another 4" rise?? I've got 1.5" risers with my 12" apes now. If your bars are that close to your stockers tho, you should be fine.
I hope so! Lol I guess we will see soon. :::: fingers crossed ::::
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:23 PM
ghoticov's Avatar
ghoticov ghoticov is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 3,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooti View Post
Be careful with that front master cylinder. If you don't keep it level it can leak and will soak through the towels and ruin your paint.
Oh crap... thanks for the heads up! O was going to move that off the tank but I forgot. I didn't realize it could leak though.... YIKES! That would be a disaster!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:38 PM
FXBadass's Avatar
FXBadass FXBadass is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: EastCan
Posts: 466
Default

Your stock cables will likely work on a +2 setup w/o needing to replace them. Your stock bars are 10". I added a +2 riser on a nightster last week and everything reached just fine. Good luck with your project, the bike looks great!
__________________

2009 FXSTC
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:43 PM
ghoticov's Avatar
ghoticov ghoticov is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 3,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FXBadass View Post
Your stock cables will likely work on a +2 setup w/o needing to replace them. Your stock bars are 10". I added a +2 riser on a nightster last week and everything reached just fine. Good luck with your project, the bike looks great!
Thanks...that makes me feel better. I did find a site ( Side Road Cycles maybe?) that said my stock bars were 10" so I'm glad I am going up a few inches in height.

Now if the bars would just get here!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-06-2012, 10:16 PM
ghoticov's Avatar
ghoticov ghoticov is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Cali
Posts: 3,621
Question

Got the bars in today but of course, nothing can go smooth.

I was able to use feed the wires through the bars, even keeping the stock tubing on them. It was tight but with a little WD40, they finally came through. Also, good news is all my switch housing wires are reaching just fine. But...

Went to put on the bars and what do ya know? My risers won't fit the handlebars. The middle part of the handlebars measures in a 5-1/8". The measurement on the outside of my risers is 5-3/16"... it's off my 1/16".

When I called Wild 1 to order these bars, they said they would fit my stock risers and everything should fit perfect.

Not sure what I do now other than call Wild 1 or get new risers... anyone have any tips? Other than this, I LOVE the way the bars look!

Here are a few pics:

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
2007 Dyna Low Rider
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-06-2012, 10:38 PM
FXBadass's Avatar
FXBadass FXBadass is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: EastCan
Posts: 466
Default

Bolt your stock bars, then loosen your lower riser bolts. You should be able to gain that 1/16" no problem. Re-tighten your riser bolts after torquing your clamp bolts.
__________________

2009 FXSTC
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:38 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 Harley Softail Custom (Black/Fire Red Pearl) - 14,555 miles ghoticov Motorcycles For Sale 15 08-18-2014 08:36 PM
Central Cali Updates :) (MORE PICS, MORE MODS) ghoticov Softail Models 43 11-21-2012 08:20 PM
NEW PICS! :) (Brawler Solo Seat, Chrome Pully, Chrome Rotors, Michelin Commander II) ghoticov Softail Models 88 11-11-2012 09:42 AM
Badlander Seat (for 200mm rear tire) ghoticov Softail Parts 6 10-19-2012 01:28 PM
2013 Candy Orange Road Glide ghoticov General Harley Davidson Chat 15 08-23-2012 03:31 PM



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.