Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fatboy (classic) owners, happy?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2014, 11:00 PM
Piloto
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 18,461 Likes on 5,663 Posts
Default Fatboy (classic) owners, happy?

OK, I'm looking at a fatboy. I have always liked them.

I've been riding a 1999 FXDL for the last 12 years. I'm pushing the big 5-0 and am thinking the next ride will be a softail. I don't hotrod around much, and mainly now just look to ride 50-120 miles an afternoon a few times a week. (I live on a small island, thats the best I can do. Cut me some slack). I'll have the ole lady on the back most of the time.

I moved to Hawaii, sold the FXDL in the move and am dying for another Harley.

My FXDL had a 88ci with a stage 1. I will also do a stage 1 to the fatboy. Now... I'm guessing I really won't really notice the extra 60 pounds of weight as the 2014 fatboy has the 103ci. It should outperform my '99, or at least be a wash.

YES, I've test rode a fatboy and liked it. Short of borrowing one for a week or two, I'm waffling between getting the fatboy, or just staying inside my comfort zone and getting another FXDL. (Humans hate change)

It's a comfort thing. Just how much more comfortable is that fatboy going to be? Like I said, I'm getting older. No doubt the fatboy looks better, is it that much better of a ride for the price increase???

And the wind... It gets gusty here on the coast. How do those solid wheels take the wind? Is it as bad as I've heard???

Thanks!

ETA: When I retire, I might come back to the mainland and bring the bike, so this consideration too. I WILL see Sturgis again.

Old 06-05-2014, 03:34 AM
yellowpearlfb
Road Master
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts