Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch/Shifter- Issue?

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2014, 09:08 AM
Dutch101st
Road Captain
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Clutch/Shifter- Issue?

I noticed last night that my clutch would not engage when sitting at a stop light...I would shift down (at a stand still) or up and there would not be that ole familiar "clunk". However when I would let out slightly on the clutch lever, it would engage but I would have to do this for each gear. I am thinking that this might be a clutch cable adjustment...???

My Slim has 3405 miles on it, the 1000 mile service was done back in May.

Sorry for the rookie question, but I am still learning...

Thoughts?

Old 07-23-2014, 08:29 PM
Strahley
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds normal to me. Any Harley I've ridden (even brand new ones) has to have the clutch lever come out just a little and/or the bike has to roll just a tiny bit if I'm trying to shift it while sitting still

If it were mine, as long as it functions fine while riding I wouldn't worry about it (and I don't, as mine is the same way). If it really bothers you, have them do a clutch adjustment...but I'd wager that it would function the same after they were done

Old 07-24-2014, 12:39 AM
Dutch101st
Road Captain

Clutch cable adjustment did the trick...I used to be a truck mechanic in the army so I have a solid mechanical background, bike is new to me

After thinking about it and looking at things, the clutch lever was waaaaay out of spec. A little adjustment and back in business!

Old 07-24-2014, 05:41 AM
Misbehaven
Elite HDF Member
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

I have had to adjust my current clutch cable 3 times in 2000 miles. I have had the same with other new cables as well. They some times stretch a bit when new. Some more then others.

Old 07-24-2014, 07:02 AM
Ragnar
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post