Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fuel stabilizers

Old 11-13-2014, 01:15 PM
mnodine
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel stabilizers

I live in NJ and was told to use marine fuel stabilizer. Is it better or can I just use the auto Stabilizer. It's for my 05 xl1200c sportster

Old 11-13-2014, 01:23 PM
ElectraGlideSteve
Road Warrior
Received 91 Likes on 61 Posts

I think the marine stabilizer has more corrosion preventer, but it also costs more.

I've been riding for over 47 years and always used auto stabilizers such as Sta-Bil or Seafoam, always worked fine with no issues.

Also use the auto stabilizers in all my small engines like snow blowers, lawn mowers, ect. Never had any problems.

Old 11-13-2014, 07:57 PM
Mick
Road Warrior
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Some of the marine stabilizers are more friendly with older fiberglass fuel tanks used in marine craft.
The staybil or seafoam would be what I would use , they're both proven in metal tank applications.
The seafoam can clean the injectors or carb under continouos use also.
Mick

Old 11-14-2014, 04:22 AM
South JerseyJoe
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sta-bil & seafoam have worked very well for many years for me. Never a problem. In NJ myself and start running Sta-bil at the end of October so I know it's mixed in well. Seafoam is every 5 fills for me. Still time for riding until the salt goes down!

Old 11-21-2014, 07:58 PM
bluemsp4
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What about StarTron Fuel Treatment? I was told by a buddy to get that. Has anyone used it or is there any different effect using that over regular fuel stabilizer? I'm in VA and will be putting it away soon. Also is there any harm in riding it every once in a while if it gets above 50* or once I put it away should I not ride it until I expect to ride it regularly?

Old 11-22-2014, 12:56 AM
Ployd4
Road Master